Research Guides: Foreign, Comparative & International Law: Treaty Indexes & Full-Text Sources

Treaty Indexes and Full Text Sources

Treaty Indexes & Full-Text Sources

Treaty Indexes | Full-Text Treaty Resources | Google Customized FCIL Search

Treaty Indexes

Key Reference Terms

TIAS - Treaties and Other International Acts Series ("Slip" form of treaty, where it first appears)
UST - U.S. Treaties
KAV - Kavass number temporarily assigned to treaties and agreements.
TS - Treaty Series (early treaty numbers, pre-1945)
EAS - Executive Agreement Series (1929-1945)
STAT - U.S. Statutes at Large

Before searching full-text resources, you may need to get a citation number--a US TIAS No, a KAV No., or a UN No.

United States Treaty Index by Igor I. Kavass
Call Number: JX231.K38
ISBN: 0899417701
Publication Date: 1991-01-01
Initially covers 1776-1990, but later volumes cover up to at least 2011. Uses KAV, TS (for early treaties), and TIAS numbers nos. See the last, loose-leaf volume for help with tables. The last, loosel-leaf volume is known as the Current Treaty Index. A complete set of these indexes is available on Hein Online. They date from 1982 to present.

☞ Hein Treaties and Agreements Library-Treaty Guides and Indexes
Index with many full-text treaties and agreements.
Kavass's Guide to the United States Treaties in Force and Kavass's Current Treaty Index are excellent supplements to US Dept. of State Treaties in Force. See also Saskia I Mehlhorn, Fulbright & Jaworski LLP, Foreign & International Law Research (handout) 2 (Spring 2011). UMKC has access to U.S. treaties through Hein, but not the U.N. or World Treaties Libraries.
IALS FLARE Index to Treaties
Free web resource
The FLARE Index to Treaties is a searchable database of basic information on over 2,000 of the most significant multilateral treaties and some bilateral treaties concluded between 1353 and the present, with details of where the full text of each treaty may be obtained in paper and, if available, electronic form on the internet.
☞ U.N. Treaty Series Cumulative Index
Free web resource
Current through 2006. To update your information search the Monthly Statement of Treaties and International Agreements.
more...less...
Each volume consists of two main sections, each preceded by an explanatory note. The first section, "Chronological Index" includes the following data and sequence:

Date (year, day, month) on which the instrument was concluded;
Full title of the original agreement, including parties in the case of bilateral and closed multilateral agreements, and date (s) of conclusion;
Full title (s) of subsequent agreement (s) and/or action (s);
Signatories (United Nations Agreements only);
Authentic languages of agreements;
Treaty registration number or a number of filing and recording;
UNTS volume number

The second section, "Alphabetical Index", consists of two types of main headings arranged in one alphabetical listing:

Names of countries , intergovernmental organizations, specialized agencies, national institutions or other parties to instruments;
Subject-headings of the instruments
☞ U.S. Treaties in Force (TIF)
Free web resource
The starting place to see if a US treaty or international agreement exists. It can be updated with ☞US State Dept. Treaty Actions. Also available on Westlaw, Lexis and Hein Online.
World Treaty Index (beta)
Free online resource
A new resource, indexing treaties through 1998. It is the online version of a print resource of the same name, which was last produced in 1984 (2nd ed), and was current through 1980. It had about 44,000 entries. "Between 1984 and 1999, 25,000 additional treaty citations were added to the database, but a third edition of the Index has not yet been published." Currently, the index covers 1949-1999. More information

Full-Text Treaty Resources

Finding Your Way Among Full Text Resources for U.S. Treaties

Date	Print	Online
Pre-1950	Statutes at Large (KF50.U5, 1st floor, ask at reference) Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America, 1776-1949 (Compiled under the direction of Charles I. Bevans)	Statutes at Large (ongoing partial digital collection at Library of Congress; also on Hein Online)
1950-1996	United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (UST) (JX231.A34, 2nd floor) (1950-1995) Treaties and Other International Acts Series (USTIAS) JX231.A34, follows previous set) (1992-1996 at UMKC)	HeinOnline U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
1996 +		Congress.gov After searching "Treatises and Other International Acts Series," links to Government Printing Office versions are available by USTIAS number are available through the UMKC online catalog.

Frequently-Cited Treaties & Other International Instruments
Topically arranged. Uses Bluebook citations.
☞Hein Online's Treaties and Agreements Library
This library includes all U.S. treaties, whether currently in-force, expired, or not-yet officially published. This is the world's largest and most complete online collection of U.S. treaties and agreements and includes such prominent collections as the United States Treaties and Other International Agreements set (commonly referred to as the "Blue set"), as well as famous sets from Bevans, Miller, Malloy and others.

UK Foreign & Commonweath Office - Treaty Links
Lists links to depositaries of numerous international organizations and countries.
☞UN Treaty Collection
Free web resource
The UN Serves as a full-text repository for over 158,000 treaties. This is the largest source of full-text treaties on the Internet.
☞The UN tracks reservations, notifications and objections to treaties under Depository Notifications (CN's).
☞US State Department TIAS
Free web resource
Official web site for Treaties and Other International Acts Series (1996-present). Also searchable through Hein online (including earlier dates). Remember, the US is a depository for many important multilateral treaties. You can also search the "Treaty Affairs" site.
US Treaties on Lexis
The U.S. Treaties on LEXIS (USTRTY) file is a unique electronic compilation of full-text ratified and unratified treaties and international agreements, where the United States is a party or signatory.
Westlaw Treaties and Other Agreements
Among other databases, this directory includes U.S. Treaties and Other International Agreements
more...less...
American Society of International Law Scope information for ASIL database
General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, Uruguay Round Scope information for GATT database
International Economic Law Documents Scope information for IEL database
International Legal Materials Scope information for ILM database
International Legal Materials Cumulative Index Scope information for ILM-INDX database
North American Free Trade Agreement Scope information for NAFTA database
U.S. Treaties and Other International Agreements Scope information for USTREATIES database
United States Treaties in Force Scope information for USTIF database
United States Treaties in Force (2002 Edition) Scope information for USTIF2002 database
United States Treaties in Force (2003 Edition) Scope information for USTIF2003 database
United States Treaties in Force (2004 Edition) Scope information for USTIF2004 database
United States Treaties in Force (2005 Edition) Scope information for USTIF2005 database
United States Treaties in Force (2006 Edition) Scope information for USTIF2006 database
United Kingdom Human Rights - Treaties Scope information for UKHR-TREATIES database
World LII International Treaties
Free web resource
Good index for non-US treaties.

Full Text Treaty Resources in the Library

United States Treaties and Other Agreements 1950-1996 (split off from Statutes at Large)
Call No. JX 231.A34 (see Cong.gov, above for after 1995).

Prior to 1950, see Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America 1776-1949 (Bevans)
Call No. JX231.A33

Foreign, Comparative & International Law

Treaty Indexes and Full Text Sources

Treaty Indexes & Full-Text Sources

Treaty Indexes

Full-Text Treaty Resources

Finding Your Way Among Full Text Resources for U.S. Treaties

Full Text Treaty Resources in the Library

Quick Searches

Google Customized FCIL Search

Miller Nichols Library

Giving to the Libraries