Foreign, Comparative & International Law

The Centre consists of:

Expert Analysis

Country Portfolios (formerly Business Operations Abroad Portfolios) — Written by in-country experts, these Portfolios cover the tax and business regulatory systems of 40 countries including Canada, China (PRC), France, Germany, India, Mexico, the United Kingdom, and more! You’ll also find an overview of the relevant European Union rules. Each Portfolio provides clear and structured insight into the country’s major direct and indirect taxes and its tax treaty network, as well as the available forms of doing business, and the regulations governing the setting-up and operation of companies and partnerships and foreign investment. Particular emphasis is placed on those aspects of most importance to foreign investors and their advisers – for example, the relative advantages and disadvantages of doing business via a branch or a local company.
More information>>
Global Tax Guide — This comprehensive tax rate guide provides tax profiles of over 100 key jurisdictions and covers corporate taxes, withholding taxes, indirect taxes, personal taxes, transfer pricing and anti-avoidance rules, miscellaneous taxes, and tax treaties. Written by local experts, the Global Tax Guide includes regular updates to tax rate information and easy reference tables of key international tax rates.
More information>>

News and Commentary

International Tax Monitor — This daily service ensures you're alerted to all major tax developments affecting multinational enterprises. The International Tax Monitor enables you to follow legislative, regulatory, judicial, and policy developments as they occur and tracking leading tax developments in key jurisdictions such as the European Union, Japan, Switzerland, Canada, Mexico, China, Russia and Brazil.
Tax Planning International Tax Review — An essential monthly briefing that provides detailed analysis of key cross-border tax planning developments, country specific news and treaty updates worldwide. The International Review gives you expert guidance on tax legislation, rulings, cases, and policies; and offers insights into solutions for current international tax issues.
Tax Management International Tax Forum — This quarterly, case-study journal provides expert comparative discussion on a single key international tax issue. Leading practitioners from up to 17 countries explain how the often complex questions arising from a realistic hypothetical scenario would be dealt with from the perspective of their own country. The solutions, comments and analysis provided in the Forum give you detailed insight into the tax law and practice of different countries. This allows you to compare and contrast each jurisdiction with ease.
International Journal — This monthly journal covers the full range of global tax developments and features analysis and commentary by distinguished international tax practitioners on cases, rulings, regulations, legislation, tax treaties, and more. Also included are the current status of U.S. treaties and a cross-border view of Canada-U.S. and Mexico-U.S. tax practice. The International Journal gives you the latest news, analysis, trends, insights from expert international tax practitioners.
Tax Planning International European Tax Service — The news, analysis, and data to help you operate in and across Europe. All aspects of European tax — domestic and cross-border, direct and indirect, corporate and property — are covered. Plus, it's regularly updated to keep you informed of every key development in over 30 countries.
Tax Planning International Asia-Pacific Focus — In-depth analysis of tax developments, legislative updates, and tax planning issues in Asia-Pacific countries, as well as essential tax briefings on the region — all in one informative online service. Covering 17 countries and regularly updated, refer to it for detailed analysis from local experts throughout the Asia-Pacific.
Tax Planning International Indirect Taxes — For indirect tax specialists, this essential service provides news and analysis of developments in indirect taxes worldwide, including all new legislation. Major areas covered include E.U. VAT (including analysis of ECJ cases), GST in Australia, New Zealand, and Asia, key state taxes in the United States, customs duties and excise, stamp duties, real estate and property taxes, and taxes on intangibles and telecommunications.
Transfer Pricing Report — A practical biweekly service providing news and analysis on 25 governments' tax policies regarding intercompany transfer pricing, permanent establishment and competent authority issues. Transfer Pricing Report helps companies structure their operations to avoid double taxation. It provides analytical news, feature articles and text to keep you up-to-date on the most recent transfer pric

International Tax Monitor helps you:

Follow legislative, regulatory, judicial, and policy developments as they occur, from Congress and the White House to the Treasury Department, Internal Revenue Service, and the courts.
Track leading global tax developments in the European Union, Japan, Switzerland, Canada, Mexico, China, Russia, Brazil, and other countries.
Have objective information about the activities of foreign tax authorities and other government and industry groups, and understand how their actions affect your business.
Get the current news you need to plan international operations wisely and advise clients with confidence.
Save hours of research. Bloomberg BNA has done the legwork for you, collecting information from diverse sources around the world on tax proposals, regulations, and laws.
Explore a wide range of timely issues, such as reform of the U.S. foreign sales corporation tax regime to comply with WTO rules.

What it helps you do:

Review the latest news and trends in U.S. trade policy, including regulatory, legislative, and judicial developments, with unmatched, in-depth coverage.
Monitor all pertinent activities of the International Trade Commission, Departments of State, Treasury, and Commerce, World Trade Organization, and European Union.
Keep up with new U.S. laws and agency actions likely to have an impact on imports and exports.
Examine newly issued trade law rulings from courts and administrative agencies.
Track major international treaty negotiations and agreements.
Witness the building of new trade relationships and arrangements among U.S. trading partners.
Stay up-to-date on international business developments, especially the global shift in regulation of trade in services.
Watch for changing conditions that can affect your overseas business prospects.

Benefits of Transfer Pricing Report:

Details major developments in foreign countries and includes translations of selected full text such as laws.
Carries exclusive interviews with U.S. and foreign government officials (including key IRS officials) discussing changing compliance and audit issues.
Offers what leading practitioners are recommending to protect against double taxation, substantive assessments, and heavy penalties.
Covers every transfer pricing and permanent establishment case filed in courts to give readers insight into various governments’ audit practices.
Follows the latest on advance pricing agreement (APA) programs around the world.
Shows how leading companies have structured their pricing to comply with various government compliance and audit policies.
Written by an experienced staff dedicated to transfer pricing issues.

Major Topics Covered:

U.S. Code Sec. 482 Regulations and IRS Audit Policies
Foreign Country Transfer Pricing and Permanent Establishment Law, Regulations, and Practice
Documentation Requirements
Court Proceedings and Decisions
OECD, EU (including helpful charts that give project status)
Competent Authority
Information Document Requests
Third-party Summonses
Advance Pricing Agreements, Cost Sharing Agreements, and Use of Joint Ventures

The Centre consists of:

Expert Analysis

Country Portfolios (formerly Business Operations Abroad Portfolios) — Written by in-country experts, these Portfolios cover the tax and business regulatory systems of 40 countries including Canada, China (PRC), France, Germany, India, Mexico, the United Kingdom, and more! You’ll also find an overview of the relevant European Union rules. Each Portfolio provides clear and structured insight into the country’s major direct and indirect taxes and its tax treaty network, as well as the available forms of doing business, and the regulations governing the setting-up and operation of companies and partnerships and foreign investment. Particular emphasis is placed on those aspects of most importance to foreign investors and their advisers – for example, the relative advantages and disadvantages of doing business via a branch or a local company.
More information>>
Global Tax Guide — This comprehensive tax rate guide provides tax profiles of over 100 key jurisdictions and covers corporate taxes, withholding taxes, indirect taxes, personal taxes, transfer pricing and anti-avoidance rules, miscellaneous taxes, and tax treaties. Written by local experts, the Global Tax Guide includes regular updates to tax rate information and easy reference tables of key international tax rates.
More information>>

News and Commentary

International Tax Monitor — This daily service ensures you're alerted to all major tax developments affecting multinational enterprises. The International Tax Monitor enables you to follow legislative, regulatory, judicial, and policy developments as they occur and tracking leading tax developments in key jurisdictions such as the European Union, Japan, Switzerland, Canada, Mexico, China, Russia and Brazil.
Tax Planning International Tax Review — An essential monthly briefing that provides detailed analysis of key cross-border tax planning developments, country specific news and treaty updates worldwide. The International Review gives you expert guidance on tax legislation, rulings, cases, and policies; and offers insights into solutions for current international tax issues.
Tax Management International Tax Forum — This quarterly, case-study journal provides expert comparative discussion on a single key international tax issue. Leading practitioners from up to 17 countries explain how the often complex questions arising from a realistic hypothetical scenario would be dealt with from the perspective of their own country. The solutions, comments and analysis provided in the Forum give you detailed insight into the tax law and practice of different countries. This allows you to compare and contrast each jurisdiction with ease.
International Journal — This monthly journal covers the full range of global tax developments and features analysis and commentary by distinguished international tax practitioners on cases, rulings, regulations, legislation, tax treaties, and more. Also included are the current status of U.S. treaties and a cross-border view of Canada-U.S. and Mexico-U.S. tax practice. The International Journal gives you the latest news, analysis, trends, insights from expert international tax practitioners.
Tax Planning International European Tax Service — The news, analysis, and data to help you operate in and across Europe. All aspects of European tax — domestic and cross-border, direct and indirect, corporate and property — are covered. Plus, it's regularly updated to keep you informed of every key development in over 30 countries.
Tax Planning International Asia-Pacific Focus — In-depth analysis of tax developments, legislative updates, and tax planning issues in Asia-Pacific countries, as well as essential tax briefings on the region — all in one informative online service. Covering 17 countries and regularly updated, refer to it for detailed analysis from local experts throughout the Asia-Pacific.
Tax Planning International Indirect Taxes — For indirect tax specialists, this essential service provides news and analysis of developments in indirect taxes worldwide, including all new legislation. Major areas covered include E.U. VAT (including analysis of ECJ cases), GST in Australia, New Zealand, and Asia, key state taxes in the United States, customs duties and excise, stamp duties, real estate and property taxes, and taxes on intangibles and telecommunications.
Transfer Pricing Report — A practical biweekly service providing news and analysis on 25 governments' tax policies regarding intercompany transfer pricing, permanent establishment and competent authority issues. Transfer Pricing Report helps companies structure their operations to avoid double taxation. It provides analytical news, feature articles and text to keep you up-to-date on the most recent transfer pric

What it helps you do:

Review the latest news and trends in U.S. trade policy, including regulatory, legislative, and judicial developments, with unmatched, in-depth coverage.
Monitor all pertinent activities of the International Trade Commission, Departments of State, Treasury, and Commerce, World Trade Organization, and European Union.
Keep up with new U.S. laws and agency actions likely to have an impact on imports and exports.
Examine newly issued trade law rulings from courts and administrative agencies.
Rely on BNA Insights articles written by expert practitioners for additional analysis and essential data.
Track major international treaty negotiations and agreements.
Witness the building of new trade relationships and arrangements among U.S. trading partners.
Stay up-to-date on international business developments, especially the global shift in regulation of trade in services.
Watch for changing conditions that can affect your overseas business prospects.

What it helps you do:

Keeps you up to date with news of legal, legislative, and regulatory developments affecting transactions involving securities around the world.
Supplements that news with analysis of major developments and practical guidance on compliance written by experts in different countries.
Enables you to track changes in laws and regulations in individual countries, with a special emphasis on those changes affecting cross-border transactions.
Also keeps you up to speed on developments at the international level — such as actions by the International Organization of Securities Commissions and the EU Committee of European Securities Regulators, among others — as well as at the bilateral level, such as Memoranda of Understanding between national regulators.
Saves you time and expense by enabling you to quickly and easily search for relevant material in a single, convenient database.
Links to the full text of new regulations and other key documents allow you to go directly to the source material.

What it helps you do:

Get critical details on the progress of multilateral trade negotiations, negotiating positions of parties, policy decisions, dispute settlement activities, accession of new members, and reactions of countries to major developments.
Follow WTO developments affecting all countries and understand their significance.
Receive early intelligence on the evolving rules for trade administered by the WTO.
Monitor the progress of all major cases taken to the WTO.
Read the substance of WTO panel and Appellate Body decisions before they're released to the public.
Get the whole story, not just the official version, with expert analysis of the potential impact of events.
Keep up with changing global market conditions. Stay ahead of competitive threats.
Be proactive. Identify emerging markets and be prepared to take advantage of new market rules and conditions.

The Centre consists of:

Expert Analysis

Country Portfolios (formerly Business Operations Abroad Portfolios) — Written by in-country experts, these Portfolios cover the tax and business regulatory systems of 40 countries including Canada, China (PRC), France, Germany, India, Mexico, the United Kingdom, and more! You’ll also find an overview of the relevant European Union rules. Each Portfolio provides clear and structured insight into the country’s major direct and indirect taxes and its tax treaty network, as well as the available forms of doing business, and the regulations governing the setting-up and operation of companies and partnerships and foreign investment. Particular emphasis is placed on those aspects of most importance to foreign investors and their advisers – for example, the relative advantages and disadvantages of doing business via a branch or a local company.
More information>>
Global Tax Guide — This comprehensive tax rate guide provides tax profiles of over 100 key jurisdictions and covers corporate taxes, withholding taxes, indirect taxes, personal taxes, transfer pricing and anti-avoidance rules, miscellaneous taxes, and tax treaties. Written by local experts, the Global Tax Guide includes regular updates to tax rate information and easy reference tables of key international tax rates.
More information>>

News and Commentary

International Tax Monitor — This daily service ensures you're alerted to all major tax developments affecting multinational enterprises. The International Tax Monitor enables you to follow legislative, regulatory, judicial, and policy developments as they occur and tracking leading tax developments in key jurisdictions such as the European Union, Japan, Switzerland, Canada, Mexico, China, Russia and Brazil.
Tax Planning International Tax Review — An essential monthly briefing that provides detailed analysis of key cross-border tax planning developments, country specific news and treaty updates worldwide. The International Review gives you expert guidance on tax legislation, rulings, cases, and policies; and offers insights into solutions for current international tax issues.
Tax Management International Tax Forum — This quarterly, case-study journal provides expert comparative discussion on a single key international tax issue. Leading practitioners from up to 17 countries explain how the often complex questions arising from a realistic hypothetical scenario would be dealt with from the perspective of their own country. The solutions, comments and analysis provided in the Forum give you detailed insight into the tax law and practice of different countries. This allows you to compare and contrast each jurisdiction with ease.
International Journal — This monthly journal covers the full range of global tax developments and features analysis and commentary by distinguished international tax practitioners on cases, rulings, regulations, legislation, tax treaties, and more. Also included are the current status of U.S. treaties and a cross-border view of Canada-U.S. and Mexico-U.S. tax practice. The International Journal gives you the latest news, analysis, trends, insights from expert international tax practitioners.
Tax Planning International European Tax Service — The news, analysis, and data to help you operate in and across Europe. All aspects of European tax — domestic and cross-border, direct and indirect, corporate and property — are covered. Plus, it's regularly updated to keep you informed of every key development in over 30 countries.
Tax Planning International Asia-Pacific Focus — In-depth analysis of tax developments, legislative updates, and tax planning issues in Asia-Pacific countries, as well as essential tax briefings on the region — all in one informative online service. Covering 17 countries and regularly updated, refer to it for detailed analysis from local experts throughout the Asia-Pacific.
Tax Planning International Indirect Taxes — For indirect tax specialists, this essential service provides news and analysis of developments in indirect taxes worldwide, including all new legislation. Major areas covered include E.U. VAT (including analysis of ECJ cases), GST in Australia, New Zealand, and Asia, key state taxes in the United States, customs duties and excise, stamp duties, real estate and property taxes, and taxes on intangibles and telecommunications.
Transfer Pricing Report — A practical biweekly service providing news and analysis on 25 governments' tax policies regarding intercompany transfer pricing, permanent establishment and competent authority issues. Transfer Pricing Report helps companies structure their operations to avoid double taxation. It provides analytical news, feature articles and text to keep you up-to-date on the most recent transfer pric