Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMKC University Libraries

Government Information at UMKC

Recommended Databases for Government Documents

These databases do not exclusively index government publications, but they can be a good starting point to find some information.

UMKC and the FDLP (Federal Depository Library Program)

This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law.

(Title 44 United States Code)

The Government Printing Office (GPO) Depository Program was established in 1895. The Library of the University of Kansas City was designated a depository library in 1938. The UMKC Miller Nichols Library now serves as a federal depository for the 5th Congressional District in Missouri, and a selective online depository for the State of Missouri.

The Federal depository collection provides original source materials for research and study of activities, programs, and policies of the federal government. The collection encompasses current and historical materials in a wide range of subject areas. Collection strengths include statistical sources; Bureau of the Census publications; business, labor, and education statistics and periodicals; reports from a variety of departments, agencies, and commissions; and legislative materials. Materials are available in electronic format, paper, and microfiche. As time goes on, more and more of the US government documents appear online, and access to these documents is provided through the Library Catalog. The University Libraries also house historical US & Missouri government print publications.

The Linda Hall Library, a private research library for engineering, science, and technology, houses some 8% of the UMKC FDLP print collection in their designated subject areas.  For these materials please consult Linda Hall Library's catalog in addition to the UMKC Libraries' catalog.

Government publications, current and historical, are in every subject area including engineering, health, political science, the humanities and arts, and more. Reports, legislation, studies, and more are available.

chat loading...