Skip to main content UMKC University Libraries

Foreign, Comparative & International Law

LibGuide to accompany course of the same name taught by Professor Staci Pratt

International Encyclopaedia of Laws


 

 

CONTRACTS

 

The Contracts subset of the International Encyclopaedia of Laws(IEL) sheds light on "the fine print" in the world of contracts. "Contracts" encompass the national monographs of a wide variety of countries, written by experts from those countries.Each national monograph is divided into two parts: the first addresses the general principles at issue, and the second covers the specific types of contracts. The work also addresses international aspects of contract law. The succinct yet scholarly quality of this resource and the practicality of the information provided make it a valuable time-saving tool for business and legal professionals. The updated supplements ensure a library that its resources will remain current on changes to legislation and policy in jurisdictions worldwide.

CORPORATIONS & PARTNERSHIPS

This convenient resource provides quick and easy guidance on a variety of corporate and partnership considerations that arise in international business, such as mergers, rights and duties of interested parties, stock exchange directives, labour laws, and takeovers. Corporations and Partnerships puts the information necessary for corporations to compete effectively in the shifting global market at the user’s fingertips.

CRIMINAL LAW

The national monographs in this subset of the International Encyclopaedia of Laws(IEL) provide a general insight into criminal law and procedure in different countries. For each country, an introduction presents the requisite background knowledge for understanding the principles of criminal justice, and then proceeds to a detailed examination of substantive criminal law – its general principles, the principles of criminal responsibility or liability, and the grounds for the justification of criminal offences. A third part is focused upon criminal procedure in each country: the general characteristics of the procedure, the organization of investigation, pre-trial proceedings, trial stage and appeals. A final part covers the execution and extinction of the sanctions.

ENFORCEMENT OF FOREIGN JUDGEMENTS

Free trade agreements, the growing expansion of international business, open-border politics--each in its own way offers major opportunities for world trade and new hope for individuals seeking to better their standard of living. But these new opportunities may come with challenges. The complications which can arise in a breakdown of contracts in multinational transactions and an attempt to enforce foreign judgements can prove costly and time-consuming. Enforcement of Foreign Judgements helps alleviate the time and costs of consulting foreign attorneys or government agencies for information regarding the specific procedures of individual nations and their policies towards enforcement of foreign judgements. It addresses the most pertinent specifications, requirements, and legislation of each individual nation.Topics addressed include:

- Categories of enforceable judgment
- Documentary requirements
- Methods of execution
- Translation of documents
- Pending proceedings
- And service requirements.

FAMILY AND SUCCESSION LAW

This comprehensive comparative subset of the International Encyclopaedia of Laws (IEL) covers family law together with marital property law and succession law. In addition to the national monographs that follow the outline below, This subset includes a monograph for the European Union.This set is primarily intended for judges, notaries, lawyers, and registrars of civil status who find themselves having to apply foreign laws as a result of applicable law rules of international private law. However, it is also of great value to academics and researchers, for whom it stimulates comparative studies by providing the necessary basic materials of family and succession law.

INSURANCE LAW

Insurance Law is an in-depth updated reference source concerning all aspects of insurance law in the industrialised countries of the world. Using the same comprehensive format as the other International Encyclopaedia of Laws(IEL) publications, this set on insurance law includes general background information and specific country law in each national monograph.

INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY

Intellectual Property provides an overview of all the pertinent information on intellectual property needed to gain a clear comprehension of the legislation and policy on the subject in different countries. This is the only publication in its field which analyses and describes theory and practice in a large number of countries. Information is also provided on all major and important international conventions and on international bodies like the EU and WIPO/OMPI.

PRIVATE INTERNATIONAL LAW

This is the first and only publication to provide comprehensive coverage of national laws on conflict of laws, now more commonly referred to as private international law. It presents country-by-country national monographs dealing with the statutes, regulations and case law each country applies to cases involving transnational issues in, e.g., business, family or inheritance law. It offers every lawyer dealing with questions of conflicts of laws much-needed access to the conflict rules of other countries, presented clearly and concisely by local experts.

 

TORT LAW

 

In the General Introduction, particular attention will be paid to the aims of the law of Torts and to the distinction between tort and crime and to the relationship between tort and contract (is concurrence between tortious liability and contractual responsibility permitted or not? What about precontractual liability?). 
For each country, the scope of protection will be tackled as well (are all interests equally protected?). The monograph is then divided into six Parts: Liability for One's Own Act; Liability for Acts of Others; Forms of Strict Liability; Defenses and Exemption Clauses; Causation; Remedies. Each Part in its turn is divided into Chapters. Thus, the first part devotes a chapter to Specific Cases of Liability, such as professional liability and liability of public bodies, abuse of rights and injury to reputation and privacy.

 

INTERNATIONAL ENCYCLOPEADIA FOR PROPERTY AND TRUST

 

The Property and Trust Law volume of the International Encyclopeadia of Laws(IEL) deals with the diversity of rights and interests in all kinds of property and assets. Because property law has developed along completely different lines in the diverse legal families, this practical country-by-country analysis and guide takes a functional approach to the subject matter. The perception that legal solutions, concepts, terms and mechanisms vary, and may even seem at some points to be diametrically opposed, should not conceal the fact that such solutions are often functionally equivalent, in spite of their technical or conceptual differences.This work primarily contains national monographs, based on a standard outline.In addition to national monographs, this work will also focus on international treaties and conventions related to property and trust law.

 

chat loading...