What You Need to Know About Library Databases
The library databases page at https://umkclaw.link/db and is also linked to the law library home page. There are approximately 50 databases or platforms (hosting databases) on that page.
The library has largely, but not entirely, moved from an ownership model to an access model for legal information. These databases move well beyond Bloomberg Law, Lexis, and Westlaw to provide access to:
- student study aids (Lexis Digital Library and West Academic Study Aids)
- books on current legal topics in eBook format from some of the best publishers (ProQuest eBooks Central, Elgar Online)
- PDFs of law reviews and journals since their inception and historical materials (HeinOnline)
- federal legislative history (Proquest Congressional and Legislative Insight, HeinOnline Serial Set)
- historical materials (Gale Digital Collections, Early English Books Online, and HeinOnline)
- interdisciplinary journals (Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, Wiley Online Library)
- international law (EUR-Lex, International Encyclopedia of Laws, Elgar Online Trade Law Guide, Westlaw China, HeinOnline, and Worldtradelaw.net) (for treaty indexes and full-source text repositories, see the library research guide on the subject)
- business intelligence (Mergent Online)
- tax law (Thomson Reuters CheckPoint, VitalLaw Tax).
- reference (Oxford English Dictionary)
- Fastcase - database of mostly primary law that will come as part of your future Missouri bar membership
These are just some of the examples the law library provides access to on its databases page. The Miller Nichols Library and University of Missouri provide an even more comprehensive list here. To find where hard-to-find journals are located use this link.
For the most recent papers and law review and journal articles of academics, try Google Scholar (scholar.google.com), SSRN, and the Law Commons. All three sources are open access or free to the user.
)