|
Library Hours
- The Law Library has three levels. The main service desk is located on the 1st floor, around the corner from the Administrative Office.
- Each level has a different volume expectation in order to accommodate different study preferences.
- Ground floor = Quiet Conversation
- 1st floor = Silent Study
- 2nd floor = Collaborative Study
- Students and faculty have access to the law library 24/7 by swiping their UMKC ID card at points of entry.
- The service desk is staffed regular hours Monday-Friday. Check the library's website for current hours.
|
 |
|
Ground Floor
- Student Services Librarian Ariel Newman's office
- Study space - Tables and chairs available for student use
- Wellness Space - Includes puzzles, games, and coloring books to help students de-stress, as well as a collection of books curated to help students successfully navigate Law School
- Study Room 007-D - Available by reservation - Reserve this room
- Printers - Black/white printers available for use with UMKC Web Print
- Lexis printer - Free printing available when printing directly from Lexis.
- Overhead scanner - Scan pages to create pdfs you can email or save to a flash drive
- Technology Classroom 007-E
- Academic Strategies Room 007-H - Available for informal group study, not available for students to reserve
- Special collections on topics including:
- Legal Research & Writing Resources - Titles to help students develop and improve their legal research & writing skills.
- Career Development Resources - Titles to help students evaluate career choices, legal fields, and professional opportunities.
- Research & Instruction Collection - This collection of print materials includes American Jurisprudence, Corpus Juris Secundum, Black's Law Dictionary, as well as ALR, Southwestern Reports, and Missouri Reports. These items are not available for checkout.
|
   |
|
1st Floor
- Librarian offices - Paul Callister, Julia Pluta, and Lisa Gooden
- Service desk - Ask general questions, check out materials, pick up items you requested through the online catalog or ILL
- Supplies - Staplers, hole punch, paperclips, rubber bands. recycling bins
- Study Aids- Located at the service desk are print editions Q&A, Understanding, Examples & Explanations. Many study aids are also available digitally through West Academic Study Aids, and Lexis Nexis Digital Library
- Study space - Tables, booths, and study carrels available for student use.
- Study rooms - Available by reservation - Reserve this room
- Computer lab - Adobe Acrobat available. Reserved for Law Student use only
- Printer/Copier - Color or black/white all-in-one available for students and faculty to scan, copy, or print using UMKC Web Print
- Overhead scanner - Scan pages to create pdfs you can email or save to a flash drive
- Black/white printers - Available for use with ERC computers
- Lexis printer - Free printing available when printing directly from Lexis.
- Course reserves - Materials that have been placed at the Service Desk by professors. Available for student use for up to 2 hours at a time.
- Reserves - Materials include study aids, Missouri CLEs, and other materials. Available to use for 2 hours at a time.
- Reference - Materials include the Missouri Practice, Missouri and Kansas Statutes, law dictionaries, and legal directories.
- General Collection - Materials includes federal and regional reporters, US Statutes, US Codes and law journals.
- Missouri Collection - Historical Missouri statutes, CLEs, jury instructions, and session laws
- Law Clinics
|
   
|
|
2nd Floor
- Director of Legal Technology and Innovation Ayyoub Ajmi's office
- Collaborative spaces that include tables, white boards, and monitors
- Study space - Variety of moveable tables, chairs, whiteboards, and monitors are available for collaborative study.
- Center for Law, Entrepreneurship and Innovation clinic offices
Scanner
- Black/white printers
- Restrooms
- General collection - This collection of print materials includes materials on a wide variety of legal and law related topics.
- Tax collection - Includes estate and gift tax related resources
|
   |
)