Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMKC University Libraries

Thinking About Legal Research Problems

Created by Paul D. Callister from earlier version at http://www1.law.umkc.edu/faculty/callister/bootcamp/Survival/tab1.html

Executive and Federal Agencies

 

Exec. Branch/Agency Index  Includes links to Executive Branch and Executive Agencies websites.

GovInfo by U.S. GPO   The U.S Government Printing Office (GPO) provides publishing and dissemination services for the official and authentic government publications to Congress, Federal agencies, Federal depository libraries, and the American public. Links to official Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations.

U.S. Govt. Manual  As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees.

White House  

Presidential Documents  The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.

American Presidency  The archives contain 103,900 documents related to the study of the Presidency.

Federal Register  The daily record of federal administrative and executive Notices, Proposed Rules, Final rules, Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations

Regulations.gov  Regulations.gov is your source for information on the development of Federal regulations and other related documents issued by the U.S. government. Through this site, you can find, read, and comment on regulatory issues that are important to you.

e-Code of Federal Regulations  The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR) is a currently updated version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). The e-CFR is an editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments produced by the National Archives and Records Administration's Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and the Government Printing Office. The OFR updates the material in the e-CFR on a daily basis.

Census  

Education Statistics The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

IRS Forms & Pubs  

IRS Manual  

Dept. Justice Statistics  The Bureau of Justice Statistics is dedicated to collecting, analyzing, publishing, and disseminating information on crime, criminal
offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

Dept. Labor Statistics  The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.

U.S. Atty. Manual  

chat loading...