The Retro Media Lab is a suite of personal digital archiving tools available for UMKC faculty, staff, and students. Created for various legacy media formats, the Retro Media Lab is focused on personal-quality digital conversion and digital archiving.
Digital Scholarship Services staff are trained to assist users with getting started for every kit in the suite. The Retro Media Lab is generally not suitable for creating archival quality digital surrogates. Patrons looking for higher-quality conversion or conversion using different products should reach out to UMKC Libraries Special Collections (specialcollections@umkc.edu) or Marr Sound Archive (soundarchives@umkc.edu) for their requests. Fees may apply. If you anticipate needing additional assistance or have questions about what legacy media types we support, please reach out to umkcdss@umkc.edu for staff to assess your needs.
The Wolverine F2D Titan is a multi-analog to digital viewer and conversion tool that gives you the ability to digitize analog slides, film strips, and negatives.
This kit contains:
Scan 8mm and Super 8 film reels at 2 frames per second with the Kodak Reels Film Digitizer.
This kit contains:
Using a traditional VHS player with the ClearClick Video to USB and the Open Broadcasting Suite (OBS) Studio software, you will be able to easily convert your VHS tapes to digital files for your personal archives.
This kit contains:
Using the external disc drive, convert DVDs and CDs to a digital format using a Windows device.
This kit contains:
Using the Reshow Portable Cassette Converter and an audio to digital converter interface, also known as the ClearClick, you will be able to easily convert your cassettes to digital files for your personal archives.
This kit contains:
Using a microcassette recorder, an audio cassette converter, and Audacity software, this guide assists in converting your microcassette recordings to digital files for archiving or use on modern devices.
This kit contains:
The Reshow Cassette Player and Converter-235A allows you to transfer digital audio files onto cassette tapes, providing a unique way to convert modern audio formats into classic cassette format while still functioning as a regular cassette player.
This kit contains:
Retrieve files from floppy disks and save them to your location of choice with the Chuanganzhuo floppy disk drive.
This kit contains:
The Sabrent DS-UFNC device is used to retrieve files from computer hard drives. The Sabrent DS-UFNC supports hard drive docking and retrieval from the following drive types:
This kit contains:
)