U.S. Government Tech Report Finding Tools - Identifying STEM Research Papers Using Freely Available Indexes and Bibliography Tools - School of Science and Engineering - Research Guides at UMKC University Libraries

U.S. Government Agency Finding Aids for Technical Reports

Department of Agriculture (USDA) National Agricultural Library (NAL) SEARCH
New combined search tool for USDA that brings together AGRICOLA, PubAg and the NAL Digital Collections through one common search interface.
more...less...
SEARCH "Everything" for results from the Catalog and Articles database (AGRICOLA), PubAg, and the NAL Digital Collections (NALDC). Or you can limit your SEARCH to PubAg by selecting it at the top of the advanced search form.
Department of Commerce National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Virtual Library
Includes many of the most recent publications of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). The database, however, is not complete. Additional publications are added on a continual basis.
Department of Commerce National Technical Report Library (NTIS/NTRL)
NTRL indexes, abstracts, and archives the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports in existence.
Department of Defense (DOD) Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
DTIC's mission includes to "...preserve, curate, and share knowledge from DoD’s annual multi-billion dollar investment in science and technology..." There are a number of publicly-accessible scientific and technical reports that can be found here.
Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) ETDEWEB
NOTE: This resource covers January 1987 - June 2014 and there are no new records being added. ETDEWEB is the Energy Technology Data Exchange World Energy Base. Here you will find literature references and many full text documents not typically available through conventional sources.
Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) PAGES
DOE PAGES is a discovery tool that makes peer-reviewed scholarly scientific publications resulting from DOE research funding publicly accessible to read, download, and analyze.
Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) SciTech Connect
Includes technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, software, and data information sponsored by DOE through a grant, contract, cooperative agreement, or similar type of funding mechanism from the 1940s to today.
Department of Labor (DOL) Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) Standards
OSHA standards and interpretations, as well as other occupational health regulations resources.
Government Publishing Office (GPO) MetaLib
Searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations with direct links to selected resources available online. A service of the Catalog of Government Publications (CGP).
more...less...
Not the most user-friendly tool. Some basic searches will return abundant results that can be difficult to sort/select.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA ) National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP)
Here you can "... search, retrieve, download, print, and order EPA technical, scientific, and educational materials from this site – all free of charge!"
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Science Inventory
A searchable database of research products primarily from EPA's Office of Research and Development. Science Inventory records provide descriptions of the product, contact information, and links to available printed material or websites.
National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) Tech Reports Server (NTRS)
Provides access to aerospace-related citations, full-text online documents, and images and videos. The types of information include: conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos – scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.
National Institutes of Health (NIH) National Library of Medicine (NLM) PubChem
PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
more...less...
PubChem is a freely available resource created by NCBI, the National Center for Biotechnology Information, as part of the National Institute of Health's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative.
National Institutes of Health (NIH) National Library of Medicine (NLM) PubMed Central (PMC) - NOT UMKC Proxied!
PubMed Central (PMC) is an open access collection of biomedical and life sciences journal articles administered by the NLM.
more...less...
The PMC archive contains more than 8 million full-text article records spanning several centuries of biomedical and life science research (late 1700s to present). This content includes articles that have been formally published in a scholarly journal, author manuscripts that have been peer-reviewed and accepted for publication in a journal, and preprint versions of articles that have been made public prior to peer review.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Patent Search
Note: Patent searching has changed! (2023) Please read this web page from the USPTO on patent searching and use Basic Search to re-create retired tools like PatFT, AppFT, PubEAST and PubWest.
USAID Development Experience Clearinghouse
Search a half-century of United States international aid records, including program records, peer-reviewed documents, and USAID evaluations

Using PubMed for Toxicology Literature

TOXLINE and DART have been migrated into PubMed and can be searched by using the subsets created within PubMed to filter them.

TOXLINE Literature: Search using this syntax: "tox[subset] AND" followed by the substance of interest.

Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology (DART) Literature: Search using this syntax: "dart[subset] AND" followed by the substance of interest.

NIH NLM Search Strategy Used to Create the PubMed Toxicology Filter
This is the search query (as of 2020, no longer updated) used in PubMed to retrieve toxicology literature. Included here for reference.

Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL)

The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports. "The mission of TRAIL is to ensure preservation, discoverability, and persistent open access to government technical publications regardless of form or format."

Search TRAIL
What Series Have TRAIL Processed?
This page provides links to the government agencies and report series that TRAIL has processed. Clicking on the report series links will open the TRAIL Processing Database, allowing the user to check the inventory list available in TRAIL.
Homepage for the TRAIL Project

Identifying STEM Research Papers Using Freely Available Indexes and Bibliography Tools - School of Science and Engineering

CC-BY License for UMKC LibGuide

U.S. Government Agency Finding Aids for Technical Reports

Using PubMed for Toxicology Literature

Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL)

Miller Nichols Library

Giving to the Libraries