You probably have access to a selection of research databases in your school's library or media center. If your school is in Missouri you will have databases from MOREnet; to get help using them check out these tutorials.
You may even be able to search your school's databases from home. Check with your school's library media specialist (librarian).
You can get a library card for any of the Kansas City-area public library systems. This allows you to use their research databases from home as well as at the public library. Choose the one that's closest to your home or school. You'll have to go to the library to get your card and then you'll be able to use it to log in from anywhere.
Contact a librarian for assistance using databases at the public library where you're a card holder. They're happy to help!
Subject specific databases can help you find things you care about. Mid-Continent Public Library subscribes to nearly 300 databases, which are available at branch locations, as well as remotely with a valid MidContinent Public Library Card. They include helpful subjects like:
Click here to find databases by topics.
Recommended starting points for researching most common essay topics:
The Kansas City Public Library has a set of research tools designed to help with your homework. Numerous databases are set up for teens and contain resources you can use from home (with your free library card).
Searchable materials include books, encyclopedias and comprehensive online resources.
Live online homework help is also available via Brainfuse, every day from 2 to 11 p.m.
For current events, the Kansas City Public Library allows you to search the Kansas City Star in an online (and much easier to use than microfilm) format. All issues since 1991 are available.
Resources by topic : another good starting point.
Johnson County Library allows you to explore resources, by topic or by audience.
Or you can make sure that the resources are helpful for a high school or college/adult level.
Live Homework Help from Tutor.com is available every day from 4 p.m. to 11 p.m. You can also drop off an essay and get detailed feeback within 24 hours.
)