Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMKC University Libraries

History of UMKC University Libraries

Timeline

Major events relating to the University Libraries' buildings, collections, and administrations.

1933 The University of Kansas City is established with the library located the Administration Building (later named Scofield Hall). The new library building (Newcomb Hall) is dedicated.
1936 The Snyder Collection of Americana is acquired.
1937 Linda Hall Science Library is founded as an entity not related to the university, and the university's science collection is moved there.
1946 The Law Library collection moves into the new university Law School.
1950 Dr. Kenneth J. LaBudde is appointed library director (1950-1985). The University of Kansas City joins the Missouri State University system and becomes the University of Missouri-Kansas City (UMKC).
1963 UMKC Friends of the Library group is established.
1965 The former Federal Aviation Administration building is rented to house the library collections and operations in one place (they were formerly spread across various campus locations).
1966 The new General Library building at 51st Street and Rockhill Road is built as a four-story structure and opens with the first three floors complete.
1969 General Library dedication ceremony.
1970 The Marr Sound Archive is founded.
1986 Miller Nichols donates $1.5 million to the library project.
1988 The building is rededicated as Miller Nichols Library after the 4th & 5th floors are finished.
1991 LaBudde Special Collections is dedicated.
2002 The Miller Nichols Library renovation and expansion begins, with plans for the addition of a high-density storage area (the Robot) and a new learning center, and eventual renovations of each floor of the main building.
2008 The Robot is completed and initial loading of materials begins.
2013 The Miller Nichols Learning Center addition is finished, adding a new south entrance to the library.
2015 LaBudde Special Collections moves to a newly created space on the third floor of Miller Nichols Library.

 

chat loading...