Research Guides: STEM Data Repositories and Data Sets: Pollution and Toxicology

Pollution and Toxicology - Best Bets

EPA Environmental Dataset Gateway
The Environmental Dataset Gateway (EDG) provides a one-stop to discover and access EPA's Open Data resources. The EDG contains metadata records contributed by EPA Regions, Program Offices, and Research Laboratories that links to geospatial and non-geospatial resources (e.g., data, Web services, or applications). Unrestricted information that is contributed to the EDG is shared with Data.gov.
EPA Facility Registry Service (FRS)
FRS provides access to a single source of comprehensive information about facilities, sites or places subject to environmental regulations or of environmental interest.

more... less...

FRS includes each entity’s name, type, location, industry, regulatory programs, and more. That information, which spans millions of facilities, is “subjected to rigorous verification and data management quality assurance procedures.” The records also provide facilities’ ID numbers from other EPA systems.
(FOIA Release) EPA Risk Management Program Database
In December 2022, the Data Liberation Project (DLP) received a CD with a March 2022 version of the EPA Risk Management Program Database, containing records through February 2022.

more... less...

After receiving the records, the Data Liberation Project and volunteers undertook efforts to understand, document, and process the data. This data include: The raw records received via FOIA; Those records converted to SQLite database files; A simple facility/submission browser and viewer; and A set of simple spreadsheets providing an overview of each facility, submission, and reported accident
NETL Carbon Capture and Storage (CCS) Database
From the National Energy Technology Laboratory, the CCS Database provides the public with information regarding efforts by various industries, public groups, and governments that are being made towards development and eventual deployment of CCS technology.

more... less...

The latest version of the dataset includes 400+ entries, slightly more than are on the map. It lists each project’s name, company, location, date, type, scope, magnitude, status, technology, cost, summary, and other details.

Using PubMed for Toxicology Information

TOXLINE and DART have been migrated into PubMed and can be searched by using the subsets created within PubMed to filter them.

TOXLINE Literature: Search using this syntax: "tox[subset] AND" followed by the substance of interest.

Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology (DART) Literature: Search using this syntax: "dart[subset] AND" followed by the substance of interest.

University Libraries

STEM Data Repositories and Data Sets

Pollution and Toxicology - Best Bets

Using PubMed for Toxicology Information

Miller Nichols Library

Giving to the Libraries