Background Information
Search for information using the single most important term related to your topic. Use this type of search when looking for basic background information. Consider using the Library's online encyclopedias to further browse your topic and read background information.
-
The Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyScholarly, full-text encyclopedia. Brief definitions are followed by deep analysis.
Scholarly Articles
Search for information by combining key concepts using the words you have brainstormed. Each concept/word should be linked by the word "AND". Use this kind of search when looking for specific evidence related to your claim/thesis. To find research articles, try using one of these library databases.
-
Philosopher's IndexCovers ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics and logic.
-
PhilPapers: Online Research in PhilosophyProfessor Bubacz recommends the use of the forums.
PhilPapers accepts works in all areas of academic philosophy, so long as they are of professional quality. -
JSTOR
Full articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning and excludes the most recent three to five years. Also includes access to a broad range of archival collections of primary resources.
-
Project MUSE
Books, eBooks, and articles on the humanities and social sciences. Covers 1990 - present.
Note: Premium content available through 12/31/2024.
-
Academic Search Complete
Full articles, citations, summaries and more from academic journals covering most subjects. Full-text varies from 2000-present.
Primary Sources
-
British Periodicals I and IIElectronic copies of British periodicals from the late 17th century to the early 20th.
-
Electronic Enlightenment
Correspondence between some of the greatest thinkers and writers of the 18th century and their families, friends, bankers, booksellers, and publishers. Over 55,000 letters and documents from over 6,500 correspondents spanning from the 17th to the mid-19th century.
)