Skip to main content UMKC University Libraries

Linking to Library Resources

Create persistent links to library's resources to put in Canvas, syllabi, or share.

Getting Started

Want to share library articles, eBooks, and videos without copyright concerns or links breaking? Follow these easy steps to share library materials!
 

Find a permanent link using a citation

When you want to share a library resource that you already know about - an eBook, article or other reading, or video - you can search for it using our discovery tool. The discovery tool accepts partial or full citation information to search (e.g. you can search by copying and pasting an article title into the search box), and will provide you with a result page that includes a permanent link. Permanent links (or permalinks, or durable links) are URLs that will not time out or change. Bonus! Permanent links found using the discovery tool work off campus by including the proxy server.

  1. Access the discovery tool search page at this link.
  2. Search by keyword, title, or any combination of citation information.
  3. When you locate the library resource you want to share, click the title to navigate to the full information page.
  4. Check to make sure that full text is available. Look for an icon for PDF Full Text, or EPUB Full Text, or Linked Full Text.
  5. In the toolbar on the right side of the page, click the Permalink button, which opens a new dialog box containing the link.
  6. Copy and paste the provided permanent link to add to your syllabus or course site, or to share.


Find a permanent link when searching in library databases

When you are searching in one of the library's many individual databases and find a library resource you want to share, look for and copy the item's permanent link. Permanent links (or permalinks, or durable links) are URLs that will not time out or change. Each library database provides their permanent links in different ways:


Make the link work off-campus 

After finding a permanent link to a library resource, you need to make sure that it works from off-campus. Use this tool to create links to resources that will work both on- and off-campus. Permanent links found using the discovery tool (above). Some library databases will already include the proxy server. Use this tool to check if you aren't sure.

Tips for using this tool:

  • The link must be a permanent link (see above).
  • You do not need to do this for freely available sites (such as Google) or links that already begin with http://proxy.library.umkc.edu....
  • If you have addresses such as http://someaddress.com.proxy.library.umkc.edu..., this will fix them for you.
  • This tool requires JavaScript enabled in your browser to work.
     

Copy and paste your permanent link:

    

 

    


 Copy and use the resulting link:

    

 

    

 

 

Share the link

Once you have created the link, you can use and share it! Post it as a link in your syllabus or add to your course.
To add a link to a Canvas module:

  •     From an existing module, click the "+" button

Add a Link to Cavnas

  •     From the drop-down menu, click "Add External URL"

  •     Paste in the generated link for the article, eBook, or video
  •     Provide a name for the link. 
  •     Select “Load in New Tab”
  •     Click “Add Item”

 

NOTE: For information about copyright, please see the Copyright Guide. Linking to resources also helps the library track which resources are being used. Usage statistics help the library buy the right resources for you!

Problems or comments? Please contact us.

Ask a librarian.

Chat with us