Federal Courts :The Conference of Senior Circuit Judges was created by Congress in 1922, to serve as the principal policy making body concerned with the administration of the U.S. Courts. In 1948, Congress enacted section 331 of title 28, United States Code, changing the name to the Judicial Conference of the United States. District judges were formally added to the Conference in 1957. As in 1922, the fundamental purpose of the Judicial Conference today is to make policy with regard to the administration of the U.S. courts.
Federal Judgeships : Appointments by President and Biographical Directory
Statistics: Includes Caseload Statistics, Court Management Statistics; Bankruptcy Statistics; Annual Reports of the Judicial Business of the U.S. Courts, Wiretap Reports, and, Statistical Tables for the Federal Judiciary.
Forms & Fees: This section of uscourts.gov contains links to standard forms used in the U.S. Courts. Specific court forms or those customized by the courts for their use are available directly from the individual courts. Also available are listings of court fees including Court of Appeals Miscellaneous Fee Schedule.
Current Rules of Practice & Procedure : National federal rules and forms in effect, as well as local rules (which are required to be consistent with the national rules) prescribed by district courts and courts of appeal.
Rules of Appellate Procedure : The Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure govern procedure in the United States courts of appeals. The Supreme Court first adopted the Rules of Appellate Procedure by order dated December 4, 1967, transmitted to Congress on January 15, 1968, and effective July 1, 1968. The Appellate Rules and accompanying forms were last amended in 2014, as set forth in the link above.
Appellate Rules Forms :The appellate rules forms are officially published in an Appendix of Forms accompanying the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure.
Pending Rules Amendments : The process for promulgating an amendment to a rule or form involves several levels of consideration and approval, the first of which is consideration and approval by the appropriate advisory committee and then the Committee on Rules of Practice and Procedure. Following approval by the Committee on Rules of Practice and Procedure, proposed amendments must be considered and approved by the Judicial Conference, the Supreme Court, and then Congress. Here are proposed rules and forms amendments currently under consideration at each level following approval by the Committee on Rules of Practice and Procedure.
Proposed Amendments Published for Public Comment :The Judicial Conference Advisory Committees on Appellate, Bankruptcy, Civil, and Criminal Rules have proposed amendments to their respective rules and forms, and requested that the proposals be circulated to the bench, bar, and public for comment.The following proposed amendments were approved for publication by the Judicial Conference Committee on Rules of Practice and Procedure.
The Rulemaking Process : From beginning to end, it usually takes two to three years for a suggestion to be enacted as a rule. This section explains the rulemaking process and its governing laws and procedures, provides information on the membership and meetings of the rules committees, and contains instructions on how to submit a suggestion for a rule amendment.
Codes of Conduct : For United States Judges, including Advisory Opinions, as well as Judicial Employees, Judicial Conference Regulations and Social Media Resource Packet
Home : http://www.supremecourt.gov/
Electronic Merits Briefs Submission Guidelines
Case Handling Guides : Guide to Filing Paid Cases; Paid Cases Brief Chart (Rule No., Word Limit; and, Cover Colors); Guide to Filing In Forma Pauperis Cases; Guide for Counsel in Cases to be Argued; Circuit Assignment of Justices.
Docket Search : The Supreme Court's docket system contains information about cases, both pending and decided, that have been filed at the Court. The docket provided here contains complete information regarding the status of cases filed since the beginning of the 2001 Term.
Merit Briefs : From the American Bar Association
Oral Arguments : General information, schedule of argument sessions, visitor's guide, bar members, courtroom seating
Argument Transcripts: The Court's current Courtroom reporter, Alderson Reporting Company, provides transcripts of oral arguments that are posted on this Web site on the same day an argument is heard by the Court. Same-day transcripts are considered official but subject to final review
Argument Audio : The audio recordings of all oral arguments heard by the Supreme Court of the United States are available to the public at the end of each argument week. The audio recordings are posted on Fridays after Conference.
Opinions : Slip opinions from 2009 term to present. Bound volumes from volume 502 (1991) - 557 (2008).
Home : http://www.ca8.uscourts.gov/
Appeal Preparation Information :
8th Circuit Jury Instructions :
Oral Arguments : Oral arguments are available in MP3 Format. For cases argued since September 2009, arguments can be found by searching with the lead case number as well as any associated case number that was argued with the lead case. Searches can also be done using the party/attorney name or the name of the attorney who argued in the lead case or any associated case argued with the lead case.
Opinions : Opinions are posted between 10:00am - 11:00am Central Time and may be searched daily; by case number; release date; party name;full text search; by month/year; or authoring judge
)