Password Required: See a Librarian for access
Primary Material
U.S. Code, Title 28 - Judiciary and Judicial Procedure
Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure
U.S. Circuit Courts of Appeals Local Rules
Local Rules for the Eighth Circuit
Local Rules for the Tenth Circuit
Secondary Material
Current Awareness and Court Directory
BNA's Directory of State and Federal Courts, Judges and Clerks : A compilation of information about state and federal courts including a chart depicting the court structure and path of appeal and a map and an alphabetical listing of states for each federal circuit. Additional finding aids include a personal name index, a list of federal administrators, a list of state-level administrators, a list of reporters of judicial decisions, and indexes by geographic jurisdiction.
The United States Law Week: Keep up with the most significant cases with citable PDFs of the full text of all U.S. Supreme Court opinions and link instantly to the full text of all reported cases, including official and Bloomberg BNA headnotes, citations, and counsel listings.
U. S. Law Week Circuit Splits Table
SCOTUSblog : Merits Cases; Petitions; Statistics; Topical Special Features; and, Resources including Multimedia Library for Twitter Feed and Daily Email Digest sign-up.
Books & Treatises
Supreme Court Practice : In this, the Tenth Edition of Supreme Court Practice, we continue to follow our original purpose, stated by Mr. Stern in the First Edition in 1950: “to set forth in a single volume * * * as close as possible to everything, outside of the field of substantive law, that a lawyer would want to know in handling a case in the Supreme Court.”
Federal Appellate Practice : This volume covers a comprehensive array of the issues that a federal appellate practitioner must confront. One recurring theme, though, bears special emphasis. It is the theme of organization. This theme strings together the chapters that address preparing the appendix, selecting the appellate issues, writing briefs effectively, crafting the various kinds of briefs, and preparing for and presenting oral argument.
Journals
Suffolk Journal of Trial & Appellate Practice
Password Required: See a Librarian for access
Primary Material
United States Code Service : Title 28. Judiciary and Judicial Procedure
United States Code Service - Federal Rules Annotated: Includes Rules of the Supreme Court, Appellate Procedure, all United States Court of Appeals
Secondary Material
Books &Treatises
Appellate Practice in Federal and State Courts: Appellate Practice in Federal and State Courts is a complete guide to the appellate process for both practitioners and students. From preserving issues for appeal to preparing winning motions, skilled appellate lawyers provide insights on key considerations at every stage.
Art of Advocacy - Appeals : Step-by-step practical analysis of written and oral arguments, with expert advice on preparation and presentation. Included are sample written briefs and oral arguments in products liability cases, medical malpractice cases, and wrongful death actions. Arguments are compared, do's and don'ts are highlighted, and checklists are provided.
Bender's Federal Practice Forms : This resource provides a complete range of litigation forms needed for practice in any federal court from federal district courts through and including the Supreme Court of the United States.
Federal Civil Procedure Litigation Manual: Contains the complete text of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. Each rule is then individually annotated with insightful commentary, additional supporting authorities, and recent significant cases.
Federal Standards of Review : Federal Standards of Review (FDSTRV) provides a comprehensive analysis of the review process in civil, criminal and administrative cases. Know exactly how to evaluate a matter brought before the court for review, whether it involves juries, motions, agencies and magistrate judges, or habeas.
Kansas Appellate Practice Handbook, Third Edition :
Missouri Appellate Court Practice (MoBarCLE):Coverage includes the Supreme Court of Missouri, all three districts of the Missouri Court of Appeals, and the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals.
Moore's Federal Practice - Civil : Moore's Federal Practice is LexisNexis Matthew Bender's flagship treatise on federal civil, criminal, appellate, and admiralty procedure.
Moore's Manual - Federal Practice and Procedure: A convenient abridgment of the master treatise on federal practice, Moore's Manual: Federal Practice and Procedure (MMFEDP) is a timesaving tool for all practitioners. This resource discusses the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Federal Rules of Evidence, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, and the Rules of the Supreme Court, providing a handy overview of federal practice for the busy litigator.
Journals (Secondary Legal > Law Reviews & Journals)
The Journal of Appellate Practice and Procedure
Suffolk Journal of Trial & Appellate Advocacy
Password Required: See a Librarian for access
Primary Material
United States Code Annotated: Title 28. Judiciary and Judicial Procedure
Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States
Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure
Rules of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit
Rules of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit
U.S. Supreme Court Dockets: Coverage begins January 2000.
Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals Dockets: Coverage begins January 1997.
Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals Dockets: Coverage begine January 1997
Secondary Material
Briefs, Petitions for Cert. & Joint Appendices
U.S. Supreme Court: Coverage begins for Briefs (1930), Petitions ( 1985) and Jt. App. (1982).
8th Circuit Court of Appeals : Coverage begins 1980
10th Circuit Court of Appeals : Coverage begins 2000
Oral Arguments
U.S. Supreme Court : Coverage begins 1990.
8th Circuit Court of Appeals: Coverage begins 2000.
Forms
Am. Jur. Pleading & Practice Forms: XXIX Appeal, Cert. and Review
Federal Procedural Forms : Chapt. 3. Appeal, Cert. and Review
West's Federal Forms : Supreme Court
West's Federal Forms : Court of Appeals
Texts & Treatises
Cyclopedia of Federal Procedure
Federal Appeals Jurisdiction & Practice,3d
Federal Court of Appeals Manual
Federal Practice & Procedure (Wright & Miller)
Journals (Secondary Sources > Law Reviews & Journals)
Applellate Advocate
Journal of Appellate Practice and Procedure
Journal of Appellate Practice and Process
Journal of Legal Advocacy and Practice
Suffolk Journal of Trial and Appellate Advocacy
)