Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMKC University Libraries

Nursing 5555 Nursing Research

For nursing students to understand the library resources available to them.

Finding Articles

For most nursing literature searches, the place to start is CINAHL. That stands for Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. CINAHL is a database that covers the world of nursing literature back to 1982 online, and back much farther in print. You will use the search terms you identified for your PICO question to search the library databases CINAHL and ProQuest Nursing. Once you view your results, you can decide to apply filters or scroll through the articles. Good limits to use are English and the last five years.

Search Techniques

These search techniques can be used while searching library databases.
Technique Outcome
AND Combines terms, narrows search
OR Combines related terms, expands search
NOT Excludes terms, narrows search
Truncation * Serves as a wildcard for the end of words, expands search
Quotation Marks "..." Searches exact phrase, narrows search

 

If the article you find in a database doesn't appear to have the full-text, click on the Full Text button (or link) to see if it's available in another database. If this doesn't work, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan and the full-text article will be delivered to your inbox!

chat loading...