Mental Wellness in Law School and the Profession

This concise, plain-spoken book is an indispensable guide for beginning law students. Field-tested by students all over the country for more than a dozen years for its practicality and its psychological realism, it has proved an invaluable introduction to cutting through the fog of case analysis; minimizing the bewilderment of the Socratic method; studying law; writing for law school; preparing for exams and exam writing; managing precious time; and coping with the emotional stress of law study.

A new job is scary. A new job as an attorney is scary times two: the challenges are both substantive (as in actually knowing the law), as well as procedural (as in knowing how to act like an attorney). In this professional transition, many, many new attorneys fall by the wayside. This book is a guide to keep the new attorney on track. Written in a first- and second-person tense and filled with no-nonsense guidance from someone actually in the mentorship role in a real-world national law firm, this professional guidebook is unique among the titles available to the new attorney. While many guidebooks are filled with platitudes and generalities, there is a serious need for genuine professional guidance. That's where this focused guide steps in. This book is a companion to The Young Lawyer's Jungle Book: A Survival Guide, which started the genre. Thane Messinger, author of The Young Lawyer's Jungle Book, was so impressed he wrote a foreword for Jagged Rocks of Wisdom. These two books will make a difference--sometimes the difference--for the new attorney.

"If you're going to law school, here's the first book to buy! The joint effort of more than fifty real law students at campuses all across the nation, it's packed with first-hand information and advice only insiders could give. From the hallowed halls of Harvard and Yale, Georgetown and Virginia, from NYU, Chicago and Stanford, top law students share their personal secrets for making it from first year to last. Candid as only a student written guide could be, Law School Survival covers all the topics you'll want to know about before school starts."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

From social psychologist Dr. Devon Price, a conversational, stirring call to "a better, more human way to live" (Cal Newport, New York Times bestselling author) that examines the "laziness lie"--which falsely tells us we are not working or learning hard enough. Extra-curricular activities. Honors classes. 60-hour work weeks. Side hustles. Like many Americans, Dr. Devon Price believed that productivity was the best way to measure self-worth. Price was an overachiever from the start, graduating from both college and graduate school early, but that success came at a cost. After Price was diagnosed with a severe case of anemia and heart complications from overexertion, they were forced to examine the darker side of all this productivity. Laziness Does Not Exist explores the psychological underpinnings of the "laziness lie," including its origins from the Puritans and how it has continued to proliferate as digital work tools have blurred the boundaries between work and life. Using in-depth research, Price explains that people today do far more work than nearly any other humans in history yet most of us often still feel we are not doing enough. Filled with practical and accessible advice for overcoming society's pressure to do more, and featuring interviews with researchers, consultants, and experiences from real people drowning in too much work, Laziness Does Not Exist "is the book we all need right now" (Caroline Dooner, author of The F*ck It Diet).

In the third edition of Succeeding in Law School, Professor Ramy continues his mission of demystifying the law school experience. In addition to essential chapters on topics like course outlining, legal writing, and exam preparation, this edition includes multiple new exercises so that students can self-assess in order to improve their analytical abilities. As the first year of law school comes to a close, students can then use chapters on interviewing techniques, creating a writing sample, and writing a résumé to help market themselves to prospective employers. Whether students are seeking advice in the summer months or are looking for help once the school year has begun, this book is an important tool for helping them get the most out of their abilities.

Your first year of law school can be an unsure, trying time—unless you go in prepared. This charming and comprehensive book will guide you through the experience of being a “1 L” student.Features:Valuable personal accounts from 2L and 3L law students and law school professors. Advice and strategies for how to embark on a successful, well-rounded first year.  Topics include: Starting off on the right foot Planning and prioritizing Dealing with the first-year course load Building relationships with fellow students and professors Coping with challenges Keeping your energy up (and stress down) Preparing for exams Finding the right summer job or internship

A Short & Happy Guide to Being a Law Student is a must-read whenever worry or doubt creep in. In this volume you will find essential wisdom for the study of law and life. Learn from the unprecedented ten-time recipient of the Professor of the Year award how to be your best in and out of class, how to prepare for exams, how to succeed on exams, how to put your best foot forward in a job interview, how to find teachers to inspire you, what to do in classes that leave you uninspired, how to cope with stress and how to create value in everything you do. Learn more from the author in this short video.

This volume of Gerson's Asked and Answered: Your Guide to Law School Success offers advice for pre-law and first-year law students. Successful attorneys, law school professors, and career service professionals provide answers to the most basic questions that pre-law and first-year students ask. These answers will allow students to gain a competitive edge and begin law school with confidence.

This product provides practical responses to the most commonly asked questions that second-year students have regarding career issues, such as where to find the right job this summer, building a great resume, writing a compelling cover letter, networking advice, and much more. Answers are provided by successful attorneys, law school professors, and career service professionals. These answers will enable students to gain a competitive edge, use all of the resources at their disposal, and succeed in their professional lives.

In the Law School Survival Manual, Nancy Rapoport and Jeff Van Niel serve as the friendly voice of experience whose wit and wisdom will guide you through law school from the application process to orientation, and from your first year to graduation - including summer jobs, clerkships, and the bar exam. This concise handbook focuses on all aspects of law school that are mystifying or tricky or both. The Law School Survival Manual: From LSAT to Bar Exam offers complete coverage, Before law school What you'll need before you apply Picking the right law school for you Orientation Your checklist for law school First year Collegiality and etiquette Friendships, romance, and networking The psychology of law professors Reading cases and statutes Outlining and studying Preparing for essay and multiple-choice exams Choosing upper-level courses Managing your time and scheduling your life Exploring joint-degree program opportunities Finding and applying for a summer job Landing a judicial clerkship Studying for the bar exam and the MPRE With reassuring humor and unique perspectives, Nancy Rapoport and Jeff Van Niel show you how to cope with stress, manage your time, study efficiently, nurture new friendships, write a paper, prepare for exams, and make sound decisions - in law school and beyond.

As the ideal companion for law students, The Law Student's Pocket Mentor: From Surviving to Thriving guides students from the summer before starting law school straight through to their first clerking experience. It is a practical, step-by-step guide that uses exercises, worksheets, and checklists to help students identify their needs, plan strategies, and organize their efforts to maximize success in law school. This pocket companion offers all of the essentials students need for success: It is comprehensive in coverage: covers essential academic skills (e.g., reading and briefing cases, taking notes in class, outlining, writing exams) provides career preparation skills (e.g., building strong resumes, choosing classes) discusses emotional aspects of legal education (e.g., maintaining balance, dealing with grades) addresses special concerns of non-traditional students It is accessible in nature: approaches academic topics in a user-friendly, non-academic style gives a student-eye-view of typical challenges faced by law students, including letters from actual students, narratives, etc. presents skills in a logical, step-by-step manner accounts for and addresses various learning styles provides clear, how-to instructions regarding essential academic skills offers exercises to help students identify challenges, plan strategies, and recognize progress provides ample forms to show students how to best organize their time, brief cases, take class notes, and perform self-diagnoses on their exam answers It has been proven effective: all exercises, techniques, and forms have been student-tested and refined at William Mitchell College of Law An author website to support classroom instruction using this title is available at http://www.aspenlawschool.com/iijima

This popular book helps students make the transition from their undergraduate experience to law school learning. Unlike other "introduction to law school" texts, Bridging the Gap offers a different approach because it: Explains the "why" of law, providing students with the context necessary to understand why law school is taught in a certain manner. Explains the "how" of the law, setting out a step-by-step process that will help students adapt to the law school setting. Explains the "what" of the law, giving students the opportunity to practice the problem-solving process by providing numerous exercises in a variety of subject matter areas. Rather than giving only general advice, or black letter law and some practice problems for a specific subject, Bridging the Gap provides the context, the process, and the problems. Written by two former law school professors who used these techniques with thousands of students, Bridging the Gap is a guide to what really works in law school.

1L of a Ride essentially answers the questions, "What's the first year of law school really like and how can I make the most of it?" Following a chronological road trip metaphor, it tells new students what to expect, when to expect it, and how to respond to it. No other law school prep book takes this approach. The book addresses each aspect of academic success, including the top five habits of successful law students, effective class participation, how to interact with professors, case-briefing, note-taking, outlining, exam preparation, and essay and multiple-choice exam strategies. Several law school prep books include substantial content about the law (e.g., explanations of court systems, roles of judges and juries, legal theory, etc.) 1L of a Ride is all about law school. Instead of a chapter on types of courts, for example, it has a chapter on "Twenty Law Student Types."

This book equips the loved ones of law students ; parents, partners, friends, and relatives ; with all the information they need to understand and survive their student's journey through the world of legal education. Written by an award-winning professor with experience teaching thousands of law students, The "Companion Text" explains the essentials of legal education, including the first-year curriculum, the Socratic Method of teaching, and the single-exam format. It also explores the psyches of law students, including things you should never say to them, their sources of stress, and how law school can change personalities. The book addresses the impact of law school on outside relationships and gives tips for navigating relationships with law students. Filled with comments, anecdotes, and insights from real law students and their loved ones.

Professor Neil Hamilton, former dean of St. Thomas University School of Law, has developed a ground-breaking template for law students to use throughout all three years of law school in order to be fully prepared to find employment upon graduation. Hamilton established the core competencies desired by law firms, corporate legal departments, and governmental law departments, to demonstrate what competencies each student should be developing. Through a combination of one-to-one mentoring and student-driven growth plans, each student identifies specific competencies and career goals then demonstrates progress over the final five semesters before graduation. Hamilton's method is already in use at several law schools, with spectacular results--both increased employment rates and elevated student understanding of the student's role and path in obtaining employment. This is the book for law students who want to take control of their law school education, and ensure a positive outcome upon graduation.

If you're going to law school but have no idea what to expect, you're not alone. Law school can be overwhelming. You're learning a new way of thinking and doing an enormous amount of work, and maybe struggling to reach the same level of achievement you have in the past. On top of that, you're still finding your path in a new profession, learning its rules, expectations, and possibilities. The aim of this book is to help prepare you for the challenges ahead. It tells you what to expect and how to make sure that you end up on a career path that you're happy with. Covering everything from preparing for law school to becoming an attorney, this book is your guide to what's really important over the next few years. We'll talk about what law school is like, how to stay healthy and avoid burnout, and how to get the most out of your experience so that you set yourself up for success as a lawyer. Law school is challenging, but you can handle it with strategic planning and advice from people who have been there.