.card-siting Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMKC University Libraries

International Business Research

Sources for researching companies and industries located overseas.

International Business Resources

IBISWorld Industry Reports: Global and China industries

Business Source Premier  - Country reports (find on right side of opening screen)
(Sources: CountryWatch, Business Monitor International, IHS Global, Going Global, Informa Business Intelligence & Background Notes Series from GPO)

ABI/Inform Complete - Country reports (find on top menu under Browse)

D&B Business Browser 

  • Find this at Mid-Continent Public Library (obtain borrower's card remotely; access database remotely)
  • 18 million public and private companies
  • Global Analyst reports and market research
  • Global public company financials and European private company financials

Mergent Online

  • Includes public international company financials
  • officers, directors and compensation
  • company histories
  • property and subsidiaries
  • debt and capital stock
  • income statements, balance sheets, dividend payment history, company ratios
  • back file of scanned annual reports
  • lists of competitors

Mergent Web Reports/Digitized Archives

  • Includes Moody's/Mergent Industrial Manual, 1981-2016

Privco

  • Although primarily focused on private US-based companies, Privco does cover financials for thousands of private international companies.

Statista

  • Find this at Mid-Continent Public Library (obtain borrower's card remotely; access database remotely)
  • Country reports
  • Consumer markets in foreign countries
  • Graphing and charts

_____________________________________________

Company & Industry Information (article coverage)

Business Source Premier database and ABI/Inform Complete database. 

  • Search on country or company name, and/or location, scan articles to read about companies and events covered by the media. There are also peer-reviewed articles in these databases.
  • Search for a specific company or industry or product; AND it with the country or city name

Google Scholar and Google

  • Be sure to configure your browser under :"library links" to UMKC in the Google Scholar settings.
  • Use Google to find articles from country web pages, blogs and newspapers.

The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2014

 CIA World Factbook  (comprehensive country profiles)

GlobalEdge (Ease of "Doing Business" Indicators; global insights on industries; research trade blocs)
(Michigan State University. Center for International Business Education and Research (CIBER))

Grant Thornton International Business Report

_____________________________________________

Doing Business In...

For specific countries try country specific publications like the Prague Daily Monitor.

PKF Doing Business In series

Doing Business In - HLB International

World Bank - Doing Business

Country Commercial Guides (Export.gov)

_____________________________________________

Trade Information & Data

USATrade Online is open for anyone to access for free. 

Export.gov and TradeStats Express (Dept of Commerce) 

Federation of International Trade Associations  

_____________________________________________

Country Economic and Development Data

World Bank

IMF (International Monetary Fund)

OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development)

Global Competitiveness Report 

World Economic Forum Country and Regional Reports

UN Human Development Reports

chat loading...