Music

21st Century Music From Underrepresented Composers

Promotes and advocates for the inclusion, study, and performance of a more equitably representative body of piano works. Includes a database of piano works and a composer index.

The Accessible Diverse Orchestral Repertoire Equity (ADORE) Project brings greater diversity to the repertoire of smaller orchestra programs. Includes a composer index and information on their works.

Scores, recordings, and programmatic information about these composers and their extant concert works.

Interchange between performers and scholars interested in art song by African-American composers.

A platform for underrepresented composers. Includes recordings for wind band, orchestra, and flex instrumentation, a repertoire database, and resources for music education, theory, and advocacy.

A spreadsheet that is a working list of the non-idiomatic choral music of black composers.

Works for solo voice(s) and instruments by composers who are Black, Indigenous, or People of Colour (BIPOC). You can listen to many works and contact the composers directly.

A collective committed to eliminating the industry’s challenge to find music creators of diverse backgrounds, and increasing our own awareness of each other.

Resources for music by composers of color. Includes analytical notes and a Google Sheet summarizing music theory topics that can be taught using the repertoire.

Scores of Latin American works for string quartet.

Musician members of Disability Arts International. Profiles include biographical information, contact information, production details, social media, and more.

Orchestral works by Composers of African Descent, Latin American Composers, and Women Composers. Borrow scores and parts for a fee.

Searchable databases of composers and works with additional resources, including bibliography and monthly spotlights.

A resource for singers, teachers, performers, and the supporters of art song by women composers.

Making the music of Black composers available to everyone.

NADC Artist Directory (all arts disciplines). Profiles include biographical information and disability type.

Solo and chamber repertoire by womxn, transgender & gender non-conforming individuals, and/or Black, Indigenous, or persons of color for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Saxophone, and Horn.

A resource guide geared towards diversifying the repertoire we perform, teach, and listen.

Repertoire for cello, viola, and orchestra by Black and Latin-American composers.

Information on Indigenous artists. Includes books, search terms, music and dance videos, current news, ways to find Indigenous artists, and a list of BC artists.

Resources from UNC faculty, staff, and students in anti-racism work, specifically in music pedagogy and performance.

A database of wind literature, expanded by contributions of band directors/conductors, students, and wind band enthusiasts.