Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMKC University Libraries

Antiquity, Medieval Era, and the Renaissance (Music)

Why Use the Index to Printed Music (IPM)?

Early music is often published in multi-volume collections. These collections:

  • often focus on music of a particular time period or geographic region
  • may be facsimile reprints or transcriptions in modern notation
  • frequently include very useful critical commentary about the pieces
  • may be called "monuments" or  "Denkmäler" (the German word for "monuments")
  • are mostly found at call number M2 in Music Reference
  • are listed in the library catalog, but sometimes only the title of the collection, not the title/composer of every piece contained in the collection.

Examples of monuments/Denkmäler at UMKC:

The Index to Printed Music (IPM) is your guide to finding music in collections. IPM:

How to use the Index to Printed Music (IPM)

  • Search the Index to Printed Music (IPM) by composer, title, work number, or other identifying info regarding the pieces. For more extensive detail, see the "Help" section within IPM.
  • Once you find the piece in IPM, note the collection(s) it is in, including title, volume, and page numbers.
  • Look up the collection title in the UMKC library catalog. Note the call number, and whether UMKC has the volume you need.
  • Use the call number from the library catalog to find the collection the library shelf. Use the volume and page number from IPM to find the piece you need.
  • If UMKC does not own the collection/volume you need, you may be able to interlibrary loan the particular piece or volume via WorldCat. However, most libraries do not loan these collections.
chat loading...