These databases include filters for limiting results to peer reviewed and scholarly sources.
Full text for hundreds of journals and books/monographs, publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, indexes more than 5,000 journals and includes full text for more than 130 Evidence-Based Care Sheets.
Psychology articles, books, and dissertations. It is produced by the American Psychological Association.
Citations to evidence-based biomedical articles from medical practice and research. Many entries include links full articles. Over 21 million citations from Medline, life sciences articles, and electronic books from 1953 to present.
Locating Tests & Instruments
NIH: Health Services and Sciences Research Resources (HSRR)
HSRR is a searchable database of information about research datasets and instruments/indices. Users may examine and compare characteristics of some of the resources employed in Health Services Research, and the Behavioral and Social Sciences. The database includes brief descriptions of research resources and links to PubMed. It also includes URLs of providers for additional information or access to the resources.
Searching the Literature with CINAHL Advanced Search
To Search for a Specific Test
Search by instrument/test name or acronym, then scroll to the Publication Type filter and select Questionnaire/Scale (for[documents with partial or complete examples of questionnaires or scales) or Research Instrument (special CINAHL records that describe research instruments and may have an instrument appended)
To Find Test for a Variable
Click select a field next to the search box and choose IN Instrumentation, then search by keyword
OR
Click on Indexes at the navigation bar at the top of the page, and select instrumentation and browse be keyword
To Search for Test/Instrument Reviews
Search by instrument name and additional subject headings such as (MH "Reliability and Validity+")
OR
limit search results by selecting Publication Types: Research Instrument Utilization or Research Instrument Validation
A question that is frequently asked is "How do I know if my journal is peer-reviewed or refereed?" The following video can help you decide if an article is peer-reviewed or scholarly.
)