Research Guides: GeoScienceWorld 2023 eBook Collection: Home

GeoScienceWorld 2023 eBook Collection Titles

Application Manual of Geophysical Methods to Engineering and Environmental Problems by Society of the Exploration Geophysicists of Japan This book is a comprehensive manual of shallow geophysical surveys for engineering and environmental applications. It describes details of applicability and limitation, field procedure, analysis and interpretation of geophysical methods in simple terms. Keep this manual on your desktop and refer to it from time to time to improve the quality of your work in construction engineering and environmental maintenance. This manual of geophysical surveys describes the standard procedure of practice rather than the basic theories of geophysical methods. Its intention is to share our experience with young geophysicists who collect and analyze geophysical data and clients who use results of geophysical surveys. It describes standard operational procedure of data acquisition and analysis in each method to reach a sound interpretation of the data. It also includes a due consideration on performance efficiency, quality control and reporting. Geophysicists may refer to this manual in all the stages of a survey: data acquisition, processing, analysis and interpretation. To the clients of the survey, this manual may be particularly useful in understanding the surveys from planning to assessing the outcome: how data are presented.
Publication Date: January 01, 2014
Applications of Seismic Anisotropy in the Oil and Gas Industry by Vladimir Grechka This book explains how geophysicists in the energy industry measure, interpret, and use seismic anisotropy. The book is designed for geophysicists who want to enhance their understanding of the subsurface and learn about modern techniques for extracting more information from seismic data.
ISBN: 9789073781689
Publication Date: January 01, 2009
Applied Isotope Geochemistry by Bruce Eglington; Mostafa Fayek; Kurt Kyser Isotope geochemistry is an integral part of the Earth sciences, particularly in revealing the fourth dimension of our science (time), revealing the processes involved in natural systems, and tracing the flux of elements through the geosphere-hydrosphere-bio-sphere systems. As such, isotope geochemistry is built on a platform of pure and theoretical science, but is primarily an applied science that adds value to mineral exploration, environmental stewardship, whole earth ecology, timing and causes of evolution, paleoclimate and even food authentication. Therefore, the aim of this short course is to introduce to the greater geosciences community the utility of using isotopes to understand processes that govern mass transport in the geosphere.
Publication Date: January 01, 2019
Attenuation and Dispersion of Elastic Waves in Porous Rocks: Mechanisms and models by Boris Gurevich; José M. Carcione Understanding the mechanisms of wave-induced fluid flow in the pore space combined with attenuation and dispersion measurements may be used to estimate rock hydraulic properties. Including macroscopic, mesoscopic, and local/squirt flow, a systematic treatment of attenuation and dispersion mechanisms is presented.
Publication Date: December 20, 2022
Beyond Conventional Seismic Imaging by Evgeny Landa This book deals mostly with different aspects of time imaging, wavefield parameter estimation and velocity model building. Evgeny Landa introduces some new ideas of non-specular seismic imaging and imaging without using velocity or wavefield parameters. In this book Landa briefly describes the CMP method and NMO moveout correction. He discusses several non-hyperbolic generalizations of the NMO correction and he introduces two new imaging methods which are not based on the CMP observation geometry. He also introduces imaging based on scattering wavefield rather than on specular reflections. A special chapter will describe a new methodology integrating imaging and prestack data re-datuming to simplify the observed wavefield. At the end of the book a new heuristic method for imaging without knowledge or estimation of velocity information will be described.
Publication Date: January 01, 2007
Biogeomorphic Responses to Wildfire in Fluvial Ecosystems by Joan L. Florsheim; Alison P. O’Dowd; Anne Chin Wildfire biogeomorphology is an integrative science fundamental in understanding the dynamic processes of adjustment that occur after wildfires. This volume draws together interdisciplinary studies that highlight key insights important to support heterogeneity, biodiversity, and resilience in fluvial ecosystems. Post-wildfire sediment pulses that change the physical elements of fluvial habitat may be transitory or long-lasting, for example, depending on variations in post-wildfire climate conditions. How biological processes and feedback alter post-wildfire geomorphic responses is also important to enhance ecosystem resilience. The syntheses point to greater emphasis on integrated approaches to advance strategies for ecosystem management toward conservation, restoration, and sustainable practices, in particular, to accommodate multiple possible postfire disturbance and recovery trajectories.
Publication Date: February 15, 2024
The Carboniferous Timescale by Spencer G. Lucas; Joerg W. Schneider; Xiangdong Wang; Svetlana Nikolaeva The Carboniferous was the time of the assembly of Pangaea by the collision of the Gondwanan and Larussian supercontinents, and the principal interval of the late Paleozoic ice ages. These tectonic and climatic events caused dramatic sea-level fluctuations and climate changes and produced a Carboniferous world that was diverse topographically and climatologically, perhaps only rivalled in that diversity by the late Cenozoic world. Furthermore, the Carboniferous was a time of the accumulation of vast coal deposits of great economic and societal significance. The temporal ordering of geological and biotic events during Carboniferous time thus is critical to the interpretation of some unique and pivotal events in Earth history. This temporal ordering is based on the Carboniferous timescale, which has been developed and refined for nearly two centuries. This book reviews the history of the development of the Carboniferous chronostratigraphic scale and includes comprehensive analyses of Carboniferous radioisotopic ages, magnetostratigraphy, isotope-based correlations, cyclostratigraphy and timescale-relevant marine and non-marine biostratigraphy and biochronology.
Publication Date: April 13, 2022
Challenges and Solutions in Stochastic Reservoir Modelling: Geostatistics, Machine Learning, Uncertainty Prediction by Vasily Demyanov; Dan Arnold This book aims to bridge across different fields — geostatistics, machine learning, and Bayesian statistics — to demonstrate the common grounds in solving challenging problems of uncertainty quantification, geological realism, and data integration in reservoir prediction. It presents an overview of key concepts and some of the basic and more advanced algorithms for reservoir modelling and uncertainty quantification. This book includes several practical examples to reinforce the learning outcomes. A tutorial on decision making under uncertainty provides a practical way to apply integrated thinking to a real field dataset.
Publication Date: January 01, 2018
Climax and Henderson Porphyry Molybdenum Deposits and the Leadville District, Colorado by R.J. Stegen; T.B. Thompson This guidebook provides copies of the key previously published papers of Climax, Henderson and Leadville districts. This is a departure from the traditional SEG. Guidebook format in that it does not contain new papers of the deposits. The Climax and Henderson porphyry Mo and Leadville district carbonate-hosted manto deposits are within the Colorado Mineral Belt, a mineralized belt that contains the mostproductive porphyry molybdenum and some of the largest base- and precious-metal manto deposits in the world. Since the discovery of molybdenum-bearing stockwork veinlets at Climax in 1879, the Urad orebody in 1914, and Henderson in 1964, collectively these mines have produced over 2.9 billion pounds of Mo. In late 2009, Henderson produced its billionth pound of molybdenum and in 2012 Climax commissioned a new concentrator and is now producing ore from an open pit. Significant published reserves remain and for both Climax and Henderson that total 1 billion pounds of molybdenum metal. The Leadville district is noted for its long history of production having produced 3.1 million ounces of gold, 260 million ounces of silver and significant base metals since its discovery in 1860, research on carbonate-hosted Ag-Zn-Pb-(Au) deposits, and the founding of the Guggenheim mining fortune, including the formation of ASARCO, Inc.
Publication Date: January 01, 2018
Cognition in Geosciences by Paolo Dell'Aversana Cognition in Geosciences: The Feeding Loop Between Geo-disciplines, Cognitive Sciences and Epistemology presents the basic idea that the geosciences can contribute to elucidate some unsolved problems of epistemology and cognition. This book introduces the fundamental concept of a semantic system, which comprises information plus human resources and technology. Organized into nine chapters, this book begins with an overview of the fundamental processes of macro-cognition, including spatial perception, creativity, information clustering, information processing, and concept formation. This text then explains how theory and practice in geophysics can elucidate many basic aspects of high level cognition. Other chapters consider the concept of semantic entropy to provide a measure of how much information has been integrated in order to derive coherent significances. This book discusses as well the complexity of linguistic communication in the geosciences. The final chapter deals with the aesthetic experience. This book is a valuable resource for psychologists and neurologists.
ISBN: 9789073834682
Publication Date: 2013-12-06
Cross-Border Themes in Petroleum Geology I: The North Sea by S. Patruno; S. G. Archer; D. Chiarella; J. A. Howell; C. A-L. Jackson; H. Kombrink A cross-border approach to exploration, appraisal and development is important in mature basins such as the North Sea, where the ‘low hanging fruit’ have long gone. This approach emphasizes the need to see the basin as one geological entity, in order to maximize economic recovery and prepare the area for the energy transition. This volume offers an up-to-date, ‘geology-without-borders’ view of the stratigraphy, sedimentology, tectonics and oil-and-gas exploration trends of the entire North Sea basin, along with the challenges associated with differences in data continuity and nomenclature across median lines. This volume includes overviews of cross-border play statistics, lithostratigraphic naming conventions and exploration performance through to new facies models for cross-border areas. As such, this volume will be a valuable reference for every geoscientist working in the North Sea for years to come.
Publication Date: April 22, 2022
Cross-Border Themes in Petroleum Geology II: Atlantic Margin and Barents Sea by D. Chiarella; S. G. Archer; J. A. Howell; C. A.-L. Jackson; H. Kombrink; S. Patruno This volume offers an up-to-date ‘geology-without-borders’ view of the stratigraphy, sedimentology, tectonics and oil-and-gas exploration trends of the entire Atlantic Margin and Barents Sea basin. The challenges associated with data continuity and nomenclature differences across median lines are discussed and mitigated. Examples of under-exploited cross-border plays and discoveries are discussed
Publication Date: September 03, 2022
Digital Geology: Multi-scale analysis of depositional systems and their subsurface workflows by Jürgen Grötsch; Michael Pöppelreiter This volume documents part of the Shell Digital Geology project that has demonstrated how you can use digitalisation and its many flavours to your benefit for subsurface characterisation. Conveying complex geological concepts, business workflows used in Exploration, Development and Production and their links to decision-making has never been more transparent and easier to explain than via the Digital Geology exhibition and its associated learning nuggets. The novel set-up allows communicating to a wide range of audiences in an interactive and exciting way how geoscientists and engineers are dealing with developing an understanding of the subsurface and how such knowledge is used in the life cycle of subsurface projects. Therefore, the concepts behind Digital Geology can be applied in many ways, be it for hydrocarbon exploration and development, carbon capture and sequestration, geothermal energy or water resource management. A deep knowledge of the subsurface geology is key for the success of our societies. To communicate this within them and within the geoscience and engineering communities will be equally important when it comes to providing future solutions for the energy transition. This transition will only work if we manage to translate workflows initially developed for hydrocarbons, and presented in this book, seamlessly into next-generation, decentralized energy solutions. Such will involve hydrogen storage, sequestration of green house gases as well as shallow and deep geothermal resources – our next challenge.
Publication Date: January 01, 2020
El Oro Negro (The Black Gold): Good for another 200 years of oil extraction by H. van Kasteel, B.Eng. There has never been a lack of oil in the world. By using advanced extraction methods and with higher oil prices, economically accessible reserves are increasing. Because of the new technologies, which I discuss in detail in this book, these reserves continue to increase. Up to now, an average of 20 to 30% of the original oil present in the ground is recoverable. This percentage could rise to 50 to 60%. Production from structures that were previously unproductive is now and continues to become possible. This will lead to hundreds more years of oil extraction. This book is about oil. But gas reserves (the invisible gold) have also increased sharply, in part due to new technologies, and have more than doubled since 1980 with an average increase of 3% per year. This will provide 253 years of production at current production levels. It should also be mentioned that this doesn’t take into account new future discoveries and adjusted reserves, which there are sure to be.
Publication Date: January 01, 2014
Environmental Geophysics: Everything you ever wanted (needed!) to know but were afraid to ask! by Peter Styles This is an outward facing book for people who need to understand Geophysics because it can solve the problems they regularly encounter and help to deliver their optimal geotechnical solution, proved by the essential, but last to be applied, intrusive investigation. It may, of course, be of significant use to students and geophysical practitioners as it contains a wealth of case studies kindly provided by friends, colleagues and collaborators. The people to whom this book is addressed do not require a great understanding of the mathematical basis of geophysics but do need to understand the physical principles, what information can be gleaned, the limitations and boundaries of interpretation and especially how we can combine techniques in an integrated way to solve subtle, complex and critical problems which one technique alone cannot solve.
Publication Date: January 01, 2012
Field Excursions to the Appalachian Plateaus and the Valley and Ridge for GSA Connects 2023 by Brett T. McLaurin This volume offers guides for GSA Connects 2023 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA, that cover a diverse range of geologic time and processes from the Paleozoic to Recent. Chapters address Paleozoic and Pleistocene glaciation; the interplay of geology and climate in shaping the landscape; and aspects of cultural geology, including Frank Lloyd Wright’s Fallingwater and the setting of Youngstown, Ohio, USA.
Publication Date: September 25, 2023
Field Excursions to the Northern Sierra Nevada of California, the Mining Districts of the Sierra Nevada, and Cretaceous and Paleocene Sediments in Maryland, USA by Harvey Kelsey; Susan Cashman; Patricia Cashman; Joan Florsheim The field guides in this volume are associated with the GSA Southeastern/Northeastern Sections Joint Meeting and the Cordilleran Section Meeting. Journey through the geology and paleontology of Cretaceous and Paleocene sediments of the Cabin Branch, Cabin Creek, and Tinkers Creek outcrops in Maryland. Go west and explore the northern Sierra Nevada by tackling the history of tectonics and magmatism along the Yuba Pass and Highway 70 corridors. Next, delve deeper into the northern Sierra Nevada by learning about ophiolites, active tectonics, and geomorphology. Last, take a trip to enjoy the roadside geology of the Bodie and Aurora mining Districts, Mono County, California, and Mineral County, Nevada.
Publication Date: May 09, 2023
Fluid and Melt Inclusions: Applications to Geologic Processes by Pilar Lecumberri-Sanchez; Matthew Steele-MacInnis; Daniel Kontak The main focus of this volume is on the applications of fluid and melt inclusions to answering relevant geologic questions across a wide range of settings. As such, each chapter in this volume includes aspects of two main themes: (1) How the analysis of fluid and melt inclusions has contributed, and continues to contribute, to answering key geologic questions; and (2) How to go about using fluid and melt inclusions to answer such questions.
Publication Date: January 01, 2020
Fluid Inclusions: Analysis and Interpretation by Iain Samson; Alan Anderson; Dan Marshall This volume is designed to provide the reader with the fundamentals of the analysis and interpretation of fluid inclusions. As is the case with most review volumes, and for a variety of reasons, there are some aspects of fluid inclusions that are not covered or covered only briefly. However, we have strived to include most of the fundamental aspects of the analysis of fluid inclusions, including modern analytical methods. Where an approach or technique is not covered in detail, we have tried to direct the reader to key, previously published articles.
Publication Date: January 01, 2003
From Continental Shelf to Slope: Mapping the Oceanic Realm by K. Asch; H. Kitazato; H. Vallius This volume covers multi-disciplinary Research and Development contributions from Europe, Asia and North America on geology, geophysics, bathymetric and biological aspects, towards data sampling, acquisition, data analysis and its results, and innovative ways of data access. It also presents the development of processes to map, harmonize and integrate marine data across EEZ boundaries, an impressive example of which is the European EMODnet (European Marine Observation and Data network) initiative. EMODnet assembles scattered and partially hidden marine data into continentally harmonized geospatial data products for public benefit and increasingly within overseas collaboration. The volume also aims to shed light on an evaluation of biological and mineral resources and environmental assessments at continental shelf to slope depths. Western Pacific examples provide excellent case studies for this topic. Mapping of the Ocean Realm is not only for scientific purposes, but also for the people who live by the seas. Communication amongst scientists and multiple stakeholders is essential for living sustainably with the seas. In this volume we encourage dialogue amongst all the stakeholders.
Publication Date: September 07, 2022
From Seismic Interpretation to Modelling and Assessment of Oil and Gas Fields by Yury P. Ampilov In this publication the author pays special attention to the cross-disciplinary problems of the geosciences: seismic processing and interpretation, geological and hydrodynamic modelling and he analyses the contradictions of the applied methods. The author states that narrow specialization in geosciences has hindered unbiased subsurface investigation. There is a need for new specialists who are able to integrate knowledge from the different fields. The book provides critical but unbiased analysis of the interpretation possibilities of seismic exploration when forecasting rock properties. Moreover, compared to the Russian version, this edition gives a more extended analysis of seismic inversion algorithms. This book will be useful for geologists, geophysicists, engineers involved in the development of hydrocarbon fields and other, cross-disciplinary specialists.
Publication Date: January 01, 2010
Full waveform inversion in an anisotropic world: Where are the parameters hiding? by Tariq A. Alkhalifah Why full waveform inversion? Is not imaging (at a very reduced cost) enough? Well, a simple visual characterization depicting the difference between what the two approaches bring to the table can be realized using the common street artist pencil and brush. While imaging provides us with what we could describe as a pencil sketch of the Earth’s content, outline its complications, FWI fills in the colours, with a more in depth description and clarity to the Earth’s picture. While a pencil sketch may, depending on the pencil (or the frequency), provide a map of the major elements in the drawings, FWI provides colours, usually with definite crisp borders between the colours, reflecting the high resolution nature of the technique.
The Geochemistry and Geophysics of the Antarctic Mantle by A. P. Martin; W. van der Wal This Memoir is the first dedicated to the Antarctic mantle. It is a cross-disciplinary reference work combining geochemistry and geophysics to characterize Antarctic mantle properties. Through observations and modelling the mantle structures, compositions and dynamics are characterized at regional and continental scales by subject experts. The Memoir reviews all known occurrences of sub-continental mantle xenoliths in igneous rocks. These studies are presented by region as southern or northern Victoria Land, Marie Byrd Land, the Antarctic Peninsula, East Antarctica and the sub-Antarctic Islands. Sub-oceanic mantle in tectonically emplaced and abyssal settings is also considered where known. This is complemented by a continental-scale mantle xenolith overview, mantle characteristics from igneous rocks and a quantitative mantle fabric study. State-of-the-art, continental-scale geophysical overviews of the Antarctic mantle are presented by discipline as seismology, gravity and magnetics, magnetotellurics, rheology, glacial isostatic adjustment, mantle convection and palaeotopography. This Memoir will be the reference for all researchers interested in the Antarctic mantle and its role in dynamics that shape the Antarctic surface and ice sheets.
Publication Date: February 08, 2023
Geological 3D Modelling by K.E. Zakrevsky The problems of three-dimensional computer models of geological oil and gas fields are discussed. Methodological and technological approaches to model creation in the different stages of modelling are described taking into account the exploration maturity, amount and quality of the initial geological and geophysical data. Different aspects of building the models are explained with a large number of illustrative material. The results of building the models for numerous hydrocarbon fields in the different software systems are presented. The book will be interesting to professionals of the companies involved in building geological models of oil and oil and gas fields and also for the students and high school graduates with a specialization in petroleum and geology.
Publication Date: January 01, 2011
Geology of Gem Deposits Second Edition by Lee A. Groat In this Handbook we concentrate on the geology of gem deposits. For logistical reasons we concentrate on those varieties that are most significant in terms of the world gem trade (chrysoberyl, diamond, emerald, non-emerald gem beryl, jade, ruby, sapphire, tanzanite, topaz, tsavorite). In addition there is a chapter on gem-bearing pegmatites and on colored gem occurrences in Canada. Gem materials not addressed in this volume include amber, amethyst, chalcedony, garnet, lazurite, malachite, opal, peridot, rhodonite, spinel, and turquoise, some of which might be included in a subsequent edition.
Publication Date: January 01, 2014
Gravity and Magnetic Methods in Mineral and Oil & Gas Exploration and Production by Yaoguo Li; Richard Krahenbuhl The purpose of this book and the corresponding EAGE Education Tour (EET) is to present selected inversion-based interpretation techniques in the fields of mineral and oil & gas exploration and production. Thus, the focuses are twofold. The first is on inversions and associated techniques in support of such quantitative interpretation of gravity and magnetic data. The second is on the applications of these techniques in mineral exploration and reservoir monitoring.
Publication Date: January 01, 2015
The Great Ordovician Biodiversification Event: Insights from the Tafilalt Biota, Morocco by A. W. Hunter; J. J. Álvaro; B. Lefebvre; P. Van Roy; S. Zamora About 40 million years after the Cambrian Explosion, the Great Ordovician Biodiversification Event (GOBE) represents a second and dramatic burst in marine biodiversity, with major changes in the structure of ecosystems and the progressive replacement of the distinctive Cambrian Evolutionary Fauna by the Paleozoic Evolutionary Fauna. However, the GOBE is not a single, worldwide, short-term event, but rather the complex sum of successive diversifications occurring in distinct taxonomic groups, trophic guilds and regions. This book focuses on the Late Ordovician Tafilalt Biota, Anti-Atlas Morocco, which provides a snapshot of the GOBE in high-latitude regions of the Southern Hemisphere. A series of contributions explore different aspects of the Tafilalt Biota, including its geological setting, the international fossil trade in this area and a series of detailed systematic contributions describing many new taxa of marine invertebrates. This volume represents a significant contribution to the understanding of the Tafilalt Biota and its significance to the GOBE.
Publication Date: May 24, 2022
The History of the Study of Landforms or the Development of Geomorphology: Volume 5: Geomorphology in the Second Half of the Twentieth Century by T. P. Burt; A. S. Goudie; H. A. Viles This volume is the fifth in the definitive series, The History of the Study of Landforms or the Development of Geomorphology. Volume 1 (1964) dealt with contributions to the field up to 1890, Volume 2 (1973) with the concepts and contributions of William Morris Davis and Volume 3 (1991) covered historical and regional themes during the ‘classic’ period of geomorphology (1890–1950). Volume 4 (2008) concentrated on studies of geomorphological processes and Quaternary geomorphology between 1890 and 1965; by the end of this period, process-based studies had become dominant. Volume 5 builds on this platform, covering in detail the revolutionary changes in approach that characterized the study of geomorphology in the second half of the twentieth century. It is divided into three sections: the first deals with changes in approach and method; the second with changes in ideas and the broader scientific context within which geomorphology is studied; and the final section details advances in research on processes and landforms. The volume's objective is to describe and analyse many of the developments that provide a foundation for the rich and varied subject matter of twenty-first century geomorphology.
Publication Date: October 21, 2022
Integrated Geophysical Models: Combining Rock Physics with Seismic, Electromagnetic and Gravity Data by Paolo Dell’Aversana The growing interest for electromagnetic and gravity methods, together with the availability of high quality seismic data, justifies the development of efficient methodologies for combining heterogeneous geophysical information into multi-parametric models. This book discusses different approaches for building integrated geophysical models using seismic, electromagnetic and gravity data. The book will focus mainly on land and offshore geophysical data acquired at the surface. However, also borehole data will be considered as a fundamental support for geophysical integration. Integrated acquisition techniques will be included in the discussion, but the focus will be mainly on integrated model building. Target audience: a) Exploration geophysicists and geologists b) Reservoir geophysicists, petrophysicists, geologists, engineers c) Exploration and reservoir managers d) Academics dealing with seismic and/or non-seismic methods e) Students and researchers in geology and geophysics Integrated geophysics is one of the most important problems in geosciences. In fact it has received considerable attention in the technical literature since about 1960. However it is difficult to find books dealing with a comprehensive discussion about quantitative integration of the most recent seismic and non-seismic methods applied in the O&G industry. Moreover many techniques discussed in the book here proposed are unedited or only partially discussed in few specific articles.
Publication Date: January 01, 2014
An Introduction to: Velocity Model Building by Ian F. Jones This book sets out to give the reader a non-mathematical understanding of the basic principles of migration and of building a velocity model of the earth’s subsurface. The intended readership includes anyone who has to work with, or to understand, how contemporary seismic images are created: what are the underlying principles and pitfalls? How is a velocity model typically built and what are the consequences of not getting it right? Concepts such as uncertainty and non-uniqueness are discussed as are the ways in which these topics translate to risk-reduction and reliability in the final image. The different ways of representing a velocity model are reviewed as are the techniques used for picking velocity and anisotropy related information. A review of the principles of tomography is presented, to familiarize the reader with the techniques that underpin all contemporary velocity model update. Also, the physics behind anisotropy and its consequences for obtaining images in ?true? geological depth are discussed. An historical overview of velocity model building techniques over the past 30 years is presented to give the reader a feel for how the black art of model building has evolved in tandem with the increase in computer power and the emergence of powerful interactive graphics, covering the evolution from a purely linear compartmentalized industrial process towards a fully interactive multidisciplinary approach to iteratively building a reliable subsurface velocity model. The book concludes with a look at emerging and future trends: the promise of velocity-independent imaging and the potential of full waveform inversion.
ISBN: 9789073781849
Publication Date: January 01, 2010
Lamprophyres, Lamproites and Related Rocks: Tracers to Supercontinent Cycles and Metallogenesis by L. Krmíček; N. V. Chalapathi Rao Paleoproterozoic to Cenozoic lamprophyres, lamproites and related rock types (e.g., orangeites, kimberlites) are volatile-rich mafic magmatic rocks with a unique potential for the investigation of processes affecting mantle reservoirs. They originated from primary mantle-derived melts that intruded both cratons and off-craton regions, which were parts of former supercontinents – Columbia, Rodinia and Gondwana–Pangea. Well-known for hosting economic minerals and elements such as diamonds, base metals, gold and platinum-group elements, they are also significant for our understanding of deep-mantle processes, such as mantle metasomatism and mantle plume–lithosphere interactions, as well as large-scale geodynamic processes, such as subduction-related tectonics, and supercontinent amalgamation and break-up. This book aims to provide a timely overview of the state-of-the-art and recent advances as achieved by various research groups around the world. Mineralogical, geochemical, geochronological and isotope analyses are used to decipher the complex petrogenesis and metallogenesis of these extraordinary rocks, and unravel a complete history of tectonic events related to individual supercontinent cycles.
Publication Date: January 25, 2022
Large Igneous Provinces and their Plumbing Systems by Rajesh K. Srivastava; Richard E. Ernst; Kenneth L. Buchan; Michiel de Kock Identification of large-volume, short-duration mafic magmatic events of intraplate affinity in both continental and oceanic settings on the Earth and other planets provides invaluable clues for understanding several vital geological issues of current concern. Of particular importance is understanding the assembly and dispersal of supercontinents through Earth's history, dramatic climate change events including mass extinctions, and processes that have produced a wide range of large igneous province (LIP)-related resources, such as Ni–Cu–PGE, Au, U, base metals and petroleum. This volume comprises 21 contributions on the latest developments and new information on LIPs and their plumbing systems and presents methodical studies on different components of LIP plumbing systems. These articles are especially helpful in understanding continental break-up events, regional domal uplift and a variety of metallogenic systems, as well as the temporal and spatial distribution of LIPs, their origin and their likely links to mantle plumes/superplumes.
Publication Date: March 09, 2022
Lower Triassic to Middle Jurassic Sequence of the Arabian Plate by Michael C. Pöppelreiter A distinctive signature of the Lower Triassic to Middle Jurassic succession of the Arabian Plate is, within the exception of the uppermost Khuff Formation and equivalents, the scarcity of grainstone intervals. . Typically, the limited number of grainstone intervals present are composed of ooids, peloids and oncoids. Microbial laminites can be common. These geological characteristics reflect the proximity of two paleoecological crises: the End Permian and the End Triassic mass extinctions, which led to significant faunal reductions close to these events. However, fauna, notably microfossils and ammonoids, is present in much of the succession in suitable sediment and permits the biostratigraphic calibration of 3rd order sequence-based correlation. The interval described in this book starts at the base of the Lower Triassic succession at an age of ~ 250 million years with the lowermost lithostratigraphic unit, the upper Khuff Formation and its equivalents. The interval ends at the top of the Middle Jurassic Callovian stage, with an ago of ~ 163 million years, lithostratigraphically represented by the Tuwaiq Mountain Limestone Formation and its equivalents. Thus, the interval discussed spans over 80 million years, recorded by a rock succession ranging from a few hundred to up to 2000 meters in thickness. Lithologically, the Lower Triassic to Middle Jurassic sequence is dominated by carbonate deposits, which are interbedded with a significant amount of siliciclastic beds. Fine-grained carbonates and mostly low-energy clastics create a unique signature for this geological interval. This is in stark contrast to the thick stacks of grainstone in the Khuff Formation below and the Arab Formation above. Evaporites are a notable feature of Middle and Upper Triassic deposition. Their distribution is often restricted to intraplate sags. The Lower Triassic to Middle Jurassic sequence represents the drift stage of the Neotethys Ocean, with subtle differential tectonics. Re-activated basement structures form several intraplate sags that can contain organic-rich sediments and can be fringed by narrow grainstone belts. The notable exception to this general tectonic quiescence is during the latest Triassic to earliest Jurassic, which was marked by regional uplift, a widespread hiatus and sheet-like sandstones fringing uplifted areas. This uplift may have created subcrop traps in some areas. The volumes of hydrocarbons stored in this interval represent just a small fraction of the total reserve present across the Arabian Plate. However, the interval is underexplored and warrants further attention, especially if charge risk and reservoir quality risks can be better understood. This EAGE special volume invites the reader to explore this poorly-known stratigraphic interval with fascinating insights from the microscopic to the basin-wide scale.
Publication Date: January 01, 2018
Mesozoic Biological Events and Ecosystems in East Asia by S-C. Chang; D. Zheng Mesozoic Biological Events and Ecosystems in East Asia covers a wide range of topics, encompassing palaeoenvironments, palaeoecosystems and important vertebrate, invertebrate and plant fossils, some found in amber with excellent preservation of delicate morphological features. Fifty-three authors from a number of different disciplines – geochronology, palaeontology, stratigraphy, sedimentology, tectonics and geochemistry – contribute to the 18 articles in the volume. Well-preserved fossils and rocks continue to be found from marine and terrestrial sediments across East Asia. Over some years, the palaeontological and geological evidence discovered from this region has significantly improved our understanding of Mesozoic environments. In discussing feathered dinosaurs, primitive birds, early mammals, diverse insects, amber inclusions, the oldest-known flowers and research utilizing new, advanced methods, this volume explores Earth's history in even greater detail. What other exciting discoveries are waiting to be unveiled in the future?
Publication Date: July 29, 2022
Microseismicity: a tool for reservoir characterization by S. A. Shapiro The book ‘Microseismicity: a tool for reservoir characterization’ describes the principles of seismicity-based reservoir characterization and the main quantitative features of different types of induced microseismicity. It addresses different aspects of reservoir characterization and hydraulic fracturing and also the magnitude distribution of seismicity induced by borehole fluid injections.
Publication Date: January 01, 2008
Operational Geomechanics: A Rock-Based Science for Environmental, Energy, and Engineering Applications by Mohammed S. Ameen “OPERATIONAL GEOMECHANICS” is a new concept coined by the author. It encompasses all aspects of rock stress and rock failure in the lithosphere, both artificially induced and naturally occurring. It applies to a full range of depths from surface/near surface to extremely challenging depths and environments. Thus, it presents the principal tools and tests relevant to the full array of geomechanical applications for assessing and accessing the Earth’s energy, mineral and water resources, as well as for environmental probing, conservation, natural hazards, and waste disposal. As such the book is a challenge to the traditional approach of compartmentalising geomechanics into discrete topics and instead presents a wholistic geomechanical workflow involving: The characterization of the mechanical and stress properties of the rock mass targeted in environmental, engineering and energy operations of human activities and natural hazards such as earthquakes. The timely prediction of instability risks to both infrastructure and drill holes associated with the above activities. Recommending, designing and conducting preventative precautions for the identifiable instability risks, and remedial steps to mitigate and/or stop subsequent instability damage. The ultimate objectives of OPERATIONAL GEOMECHANICS are saving time, costs and lives, and in that context, the book discusses the building blocks of the topic in terms of: definitions of geomechanical/rock mechanical parameters; tools; analysis; and interpretations utilized particularly in operations involving drilling/boring operations relevant to all the above engineering, energy and environmental applications. In the final part of the book the author gives examples of key drilling-related applications. The book is enriched by the author’s industrial experience which spans more than three decades and will be a suitable text book for undergraduate and graduate students and a practical guide to professionals and managers alike working on projects for which operational geomechanics plays a vital role.
Publication Date: January 01, 2018
Outsiders: Personal Stories of Marginalization and Perseverance in the Geosciences by Claudia I. Mora; A. Wesley Ward Geological sciences are perhaps the least diverse of all the sciences. Recently, gender equity has approached parity within the student population, but professionally, people of color and differently abled people are still underrepresented in the geosciences. This book presents the autobiographies of eight professional earth scientists from underrepresented groups. They relate the joys and horrors; the help and the harm; and the care, hatred, and indifference they saw in their quests for earth science careers. All became successful, most often despite their circumstances, finding the courage to resist and even fight through the prejudice, bias, ignorance, and indifference that still characterize our society and our profession today. Their stories are unique, yet the reader will see many common threads that describe how these individuals persevered in their dreams to become professional earth scientists.
Publication Date: August 05, 2024
Permo-Triassic Sequence of the Arabian Plate by Michael C. Pöppelreiter ‘Permo-Triassic Sequence of the Arabian Plate’, edited by Michael Pöppelreiter, is based on the findings of an EAGE organized workshop held in Kuwait on the stratigraphy, reservoir and exploration techniques of the Arabian Khuff formation. The volume portrays the Khuff formation, which stretches across six countries, from an integrated petroleum- systems perspective: source, reservoir and seal across the platform from margin to open marine environments. The special publication was written by 64 authors and co-authors, from 17 nations across three continents, affiliated to industry and academia. The Khuff is portrayed hierarchically from basin, play, environment, body and grain scale in 15 chapters on 400 pages with emphasis on 229 high-quality, full-colour figures. The publication emphasizes the importance of subtle tectonics on all elements of the petroleum system. For those who want to find out more about the formation, the book has a contacts directory of Khuff specialists on different subject matters.
Publication Date: January 01, 2013
Petroleum Geology: History, genesis, exploration, resources by Jean-Jacques Biteau; François Baudin; Patrick Pouyanné Hydrocarbons (petroleum and gas) result from the transformation of organic matter within sedimentary rocks. Three conditions are necessary for an hydrocarbon accumulation to be formed: the presence of a source rock in which, if present, the organic matter will be transformed; the existence of reservoir rocks in which hydrocarbons will migrate and evolve; the presence of traps in which oil and gas will be accumulated and concentrated. This book covers the spectrum of petroleum geology from the initial sedimentology to the economic aspects of estimations of resources and reserves on a planetary scale. It includes the study of the migration of fluids in the sediment through exploration methods, the exploitation of the accumulations and the typology of oil fields. The book is addressed to master’s degree students, petroleum exploration professionals wanting to update their know-how and knowledge skills.
Publication Date: January 01, 2019
The Principles of Quantitative Acoustical Imaging by Dries Gisolf; Eric Verschuur This book presents a systematic approach to imaging of acoustic reflection measurements and the extraction of media property information from the image amplitudes, based on wave theory. Although the approach is valid for a wide range of acoustical frequencies and applications, there is a bias towards seismic imaging, because imaging the earth is one of the most challenging of all acoustical imaging applications. In addition, in oil and gas exploration and production applications the need to obtain quantitative information on the media properties of the object to be imaged is most strongly felt. However, the methods presented are equally valid for ultra-sonic non-destructive testing, or medical diagnostic applications. The theory of acoustic wave propagation is presented, from the constituent equations Hooke and Newton, to the acoustic wave equation, to wavefield extrapolation and to extraction of image amplitudes. A feature of this book is the careful analysis of every step in these processes in terms of the linearity of the wavefields in the media property representation they are inverted for. Alternatively, the extrapolated wavefields can be inverted directly for the media properties. Towards the end of the book it is demonstrated that significantly higher resolution quantitative information can be obtained if the non-linearity is taken into account
Publication Date: January 01, 2010
Principles of Seismic Velocities and Time-to-Depth Conversion by M. Al-Chalabi Despite its fundamental importance for acquiring an accurate picture of the subsurface, the topic of time-to-depth conversion on the basis of true propagation velocities has never been addressed in the form of a comprehensive, dedicated book. The present book has long been overdue for bridging this obvious gap in geoscience. Geophysicists proficient in data processing fully appreciate that depth imaging, despite the excellence achieved in data quality and lateral positioning, does not amount to true or accurate depth conversion. This is because modelling “velocities” in processing (described in the book as “pro-velocities”) can often be quite different from the actual propagation velocities. The many forms of velocities, their interrelationships, their derivation, their assessment and the various factors that could affect their stability and accuracy, are all thoroughly covered. Common misconceptions are brought to notice. The main thrust is for the use of these velocities for time-todepth conversion. Extensive details of depth conversion procedures are established, together with velocity models, each to suit the various depth conversion situations arising in practice. Factors affecting depth conversion results and estimation of the associated uncertainty are extensively covered. Clarity and simplicity of presentation and practical applicability are a prime consideration. Demystifying some topics that are vague to a majority of geoscientists (e.g. anisotropy) also receives ample attention. The book is written for the interpretation geophysicist working in exploration and development, for the seismic processor seeking a wider perspective on the quality of output and on the provision of the data to help the “frontline” geoscientist, for the geologist using geophysical methods as a tool at various levels of detail in the evaluation of the subsurface, and for the geoscientist at large.
Publication Date: January 01, 2014
Quaternary Geoarchaeology of India by N. Tiwari; V. Singh; S. B. Mehra The Quaternary Period in South Asia has a very prolonged and diverse history. Within this region, India represents various technological and cultural phases of hominin occupation adapting to different ecological zones throughout the Quaternary Period. The earliest records of this occupation can be traced back to 1.5 Ma ago and possibly to c. 2 Ma ago. Archaeological evidence has been reported from all known phases in India, showing a continuous record of occupation from the Early Pleistocene onwards and reflecting adaptation by multiple hominin species over time. This book aims to highlight recent advances in the Quaternary geoarchaeology by showcasing diverse methods such as archaeology, geology, palaeoclimatology, sedimentology, GIS, remote sensing and taphonomy. It presents a collection of papers that address various geoarchaeological aspects from different regions in India, within the time frame of the Early Pleistocene to Anthropocene. This volume provides an opportunity for new data to be disseminated, particularly by young researchers and, within the framework of worldwide research issues, it promotes new geoarchaeological perspectives from India.
Publication Date: March 31, 2023
Recent Advances in Understanding Gold Deposits: from Orogeny to Alluvium by T. Torvela; J. S. Lambert-Smith; R. J. Chapman Gold occurs in many settings but the dynamic nature of Earth's crust means overlapping and overprinting deposit styles are common. Characterization of mineralization from an early stage becomes important particularly where the mineralization is complex, in order to maximize exploration and project development success, and mining productivity. Various techniques are used at different stages of a project to characterize gold deposits. This Special Publication Recent Advances in Understanding Gold Deposits: from Orogeny to Alluvium offers a cross-section of some specific techniques to investigate a variety of gold deposit types.
Publication Date: January 03, 2023
Recommendations for the Safety of People and Instruments in Ground-Penetrating Radar and Near-Surface Geophysical Prospecting by Raffaele Persico et al This book offers an in-depth overview on the risks associated to Ground-Penetrating Radar (GPR) and Near-Surface Geophysical Prospecting, providing the reader with practical recommendations for the safety of people and instruments. The book stems out from the European Cooperation in Science and Technology (COST) Action TU1208 “Civil Engineering Applications of Ground Penetrating Radar” (www.GPRadar.eu). It also benefited from the significant contribution of renowned experts not involved in the Action.
Publication Date: January 01, 2015
Satellite InSAR Data: Reservoir Monitoring from Space by Alessandro Ferretti Satellite radar data for surface deformation monitoring are gaining increasing attention, and not only within the oil and gas community. They provide a powerful tool for remotely measuring extremely small surface displacements over large areas and long periods of time, without requiring the installation of in-situ equipment. However, apart from remote sensing and radar specialists, only a relatively small number of geoscientists and engineers understand how a radar sensor orbiting the Earth at about 7 km/s from 700km above the Earth’s surface can actually measure ground displacements of a fraction of a centimetre. This book provides a step-by-step introduction to satellite radar sensors, SAR imagery, SAR interferometry and advanced InSAR techniques. Rather than a tutorial for remote sensing specialists, the book starts from very basic concepts and explains in plain language the most important ideas related to SAR data processing and why geoscientists and engineers should take a vested interest in this new information source.
Publication Date: January 01, 2014
Sedimentary Structures and their relation to bedforms and flow conditions by Jan H. van den Berg; S. Djin Nio EAGE Short Course Series Sedimentary structures that show up in outcrops and cores tell us about physical, biological and sometimes also chemical conditions at the time they were formed. Varying hydraulic or aerodynamic conditions result in assemblages of structures that often bear diagnostic features of sedimentary environments. Therefore an understanding of the origin of sedimentary structures and their assemblages is a prerequisite for sedimentologists and petroleum geologists involved in core description and interpretation. The main objective of this book is to bring together the present basic knowledge on the relation between sedimentary structures, bedforms and hydraulic conditions. The book is part of post-graduate Short Courses in Advanced Sedimentology and Stratigraphy for the petroleum industry offered by ENRES International. In these courses much attention is given to the recognition of sedimentary environments from diagnostic features of sedimentary structures and assemblages of structures. For this purpose practicals are given using a selection of lacquer peels and cores representing typical fluvial to estuarine, coastal and eolian environments. This material including its interpretation is published as a regularly updated stand-alone document that can be obtained from ENRES. One of the pioneering publications on this subject was a series of SEPM symposium papers published in 1965 (Middleton, 1965b). A more comprehensive publication on sediment movement by fluid flow and the resulting sedimentary structures was followed in 1972 (Blatt, Middleton and Murray, 1972). After that many excellent publications and textbooks were published (e.g. Allen, 1984, 1985; Bridge and Demicco, 2008; Collinson and Thompson, 1989; Harms et al., 1982; Hs?, 1989; Leeder, 1999; Reineck and Singh, 1980). These publications are partly covering a much wider scope as presented in this book, but are at some points not going into the desired details and are partly outdated. We have no intention to offer a new comprehensive textbook. The main goal of this book is to introduce the terminology and fundamental concepts that are necessary for the description and interpretation of the hydraulic background of sedimentary structures in siliciclastic deposits. Another objective of this book is to put this topic within the newly developed framework of modern stratigraphy (e.g. sequence stratigraphy and climate stratigraphy). Also some important new insights from recent research at the University of Utrecht and unique data of sedimentary structures from outcrops up to 15m below mean sea level have been added. A specially-designed Core Simulation software has been developed in cooperation with Statoil which will be used during the course and the practicals.
Publication Date: January 01, 2010
Seismic Fracture Characterization by Enru Liu During the last three decades, seismic anisotropy has evolved from a purely academic research topic into applications in the mainstream of applied geophysics. Today, nobody doubts that the earth is anisotropic and most (if not all) hydrocarbon reservoirs are anisotropic. Since shale accounts for 70% of sedimentary basins and fractures exist in all reservoirs, seismic anisotropy may be even more extensive than we think. Taking anisotropy into account in seismic processing has improved the quality of seismic images, even though it makes seismic processing more challenging since additional parameters are needed. At the same time, fracture characterization using the concept of seismic anisotropy has added value in reservoir characterization, reservoir management, and has increased recovery and optimized well locations. This book and the associated course provide an introduction to the fundamental concepts of seismic fracture characterization by introducing seismic anisotropy, equivalent-medium representation theories of fractured rock and methodologies for extracting fracture parameters from seismic data. We focus on practical applications using extensive field data examples. Includes cast studies demonstrating the applicability, workflow and limitations of this technology Contains physical laboratory 3D experiments where fracture distributions are known, a Middle East fractured carbonate reservoir and a fractured tight gas reservoir. Builds discrete fracture network models incorporating all data. These models should not only be geologically consistent but also geophysically and geomechanically consistent, so that the models can be used to forecast the behaviour and performance of fractured reservoirs.
ISBN: 9789073834507
Publication Date: 2013-12-06
Seismic Geomechanics: How to Build and Calibrate Geomechanical Models using 3D and 4D Seismic Data by J. Herwanger; N. Koutsabeloulis Three-dimensional geomechanical models have seen a rapid increase in use by the oil and gas industry, with applications from drilling to reservoir management. Yet few university programmes include applied geomechanics as part of their curriculum. This course aims to fill this gap and presents currently available methods to build, calibrate and interpret 3D and 4D geomechanical models. The course participant will become comfortable with stress and strain tensors, understand the basics of deriving elastic and strength properties, learn how to use seismic data to build geomechanical models and understand the importance of calibrating geomechanical models with observations.
Publication Date: January 01, 2011
Seismic Imaging: A Review of the Techniques, their Principles, Merits and Limitations by Etienne Robein The book presents the various seismic imaging methods currently in use in the Oil and Gas industry in a unified and almost equation-free approach. Guided step by step through each method well illustrated by figures and examples, the reader will discover differences between time and depth imaging, how they impact the quality of the seismic image, the distinction between Kirchhoff, Gaussian Beam and other Beam techniques, principles of ray-based tomography and how it may be used after wave-equation methods, in what sense two-way Reverse Time Migration differs from one-way Shot Point migration, what are the emerging routes for migration velocity analysis, what can we expect from Full Waveform Inversion and at what cost, how 3D and wide azimuth acquisition impact imaging, and answers to many other questions
Publication Date: January 01, 2010
Seismic multiple removal techniques: past, present and future by D.J. Verschuur Multiple reflections have been a major problem since the beginning of seismic exploration. In the last five decades a range of methods have been developed to suppress these reflections and enhance the primaries. This book provides an overview of these techniques, starting with the deconvolution-based methods from the 1960s, via the move-out discrimination techniques of the 1980s and ending up with wave-equation based methods from the 1990s and their 3D extensions as developed in the 2000s. Furthermore, the current challenges in multiple removal and their relation with seismic imaging and inversion are treated. Besides this overview, the book also discusses processing concepts that are required to better understand various technologies, such as high-resolution seismic data transforms (Fourier, Radon), adaptive filtering techniques, wave-equation based forward and inverse wave propagation and the processing of seismic data in different transform domains. The emphasis is not to thoroughly treat the mathematics but to present some understanding of the physical concepts behind each method, illustrated with clear examples.
Publication Date: January 01, 2013
Seismic Reservoir Characterization: An Earth Modelling Perspective by P.M. Doyen In this publication, Philippe Doyen reviews some of the most widely used workflows for constraining 3-D earth models with seismic data. They typically involve a sequential process where seismic data are first inverted to elastic properties. Inverted data are then depth-converted and transferred into the earth model framework, where the seismic attributes are used to guide the interpolation of reservoir properties between the wells. Geostatistics provides a number of tools for this purpose, including generalized regression techniques such as cokriging and kriging with external drift, stochastic simulation with seismic constraints and geostatistical inversion. These techniques are reasonably well-established and their application can lead to significantly better constrained earth models. So what are the remaining challenges for seismic data integration in earth models? In particular, what are the main limitations or bottlenecks with current approaches that need to be addressed in order to make this integration more widely applicable? In the last few paragraphs, Philippe Doyen lists some of the future challenges and new directions in seismic earth modelling.
Publication Date: January 01, 2007
Seismic Surveillance for Reservoir Delivery: From a Practitioner’s Point of View by O.I. Barkved Time-lapse seismic surveys or 4D seismic offers snapshots of a producing hydrocarbon reservoir and its surroundings and is the most common seismic surveillance technique in the oil and gas industry. New developments of this technology includes permanent seismic installations; observations of changes outside the reservoirs and a link to geomechanics and the use of passive recordings. In this book we are using examples from the Valhall field to illustrate examples of seismic surveillance that will include data examples from marine towed 4D, frequent surveying using permanently installed sensors, in-well recordings and analysis of passive data, including micro seismicity. Some of the historical 4D examples, an update on the state of use of permanent recordings systems are also discussed.
Publication Date: January 01, 2012
SEPM 2020 DEI SURVEY SUMMARY REPORT by Howard Harper, SEPM (Society for Sedimentary Geology) This summary includes the results of all of the questions in the survey with some introductory and concluding comments. These results are a snapshot of the diversity of SEPM’s responding members and a small number of the non-member sedimentary geology community.
Publication Date: February 11, 2022
Structural Analysis and Chronologic Constraints on Progressive Deformation within the Rincon Mountains, Arizona: Implications for Development of Metamorphic Core Complexes by George H. Davis, et al The Catalina-Rincon metamorphic core complex (Tucson, Arizona, USA) is a type Cordilleran metamorphic core complex. This volume draws together decades of investigations into the geology of the Rincons, and presents results of multi-scale mapping and structural analysis of the Catalina detachment zone, a superbly exposed crustal-scale shear zone. A structural model for progressive incremental deformation synthesizes geological observations into a kinematic/mechanical framework. To this is added the first substantive application of multi-method geochronology and thermochronology, results of which place the evolution of the detachment zone (from mylonitization through cataclasis to exhumation) into a narrow time window, i.e., from ca. 26 to 17 Ma.
Publication Date: August 23, 2023
Tectonomagmatic Influences on Metallogeny and Hydrothermal Ore Deposits: A Tribute to Jeremy P. Richards (Volume II) by Ali Sholeh; Rui Wang This publication is dedicated to the memory of Jeremy Richards, who studied many aspects of metal deposits worldwide, at global to local scales, from their relationship to tectonics to the role of metal resources in sustainability.
Publication Date: January 01, 2021
Uranium: Cradle to Grave by Peter C. Burns; Ginger E. Sigmon This volume focuses on many aspects of uranium, which is the central element of the atomic age. We have chosen to focus on issues related to the nuclear fuel cycle, primarily from the perspective of geologic and environmental aspects, as well as nuclear forensics analysis for attribution of nuclear materials. The proliferation of nuclear weapons, either as an intended or unintended outcome of a fuel cycle, remains of great societal concern. Chapters in this volume examine the origin and distribution of uranium ore deposits worldwide, as well as the quantity of fissile uranium and thorium available for exploitation. The family of uranium minerals is examined, from the perspectives of their occurrences and crystal structures. Multiple chapters are devoted to exploring the myriad of geochemical and biologic factors that define the transport of uranium in the subsurface. Nuclear waste disposal is examined from the perspective of different types of waste forms, spanning from glass to crystalline ceramics. Coverage of post- and pre-detonation nuclear forensics includes several case studies, such as the Trinity explosion that started the atomic age. We do not consider reactor physics or engineering, industrial-scale chemical processes of the fuel cycle, or much of the large field of synthetic actinide chemistry.
Publication Date: January 01, 2013
Velocities, Imaging and Waveform Inversion: The evolution of characterising the Earth’s subsurface by Ian F. Jones Velocities, Imaging, and Waveform Inversion - The evolution of characterizing the Earth’s subsurface is part of Ian Jones' EAGE Education Tour and will be a fusion of practical industrial elements, concentrating on the origin and nature of the geological complexities that give rise to imaging problems, as well as a physical (rather than mathematical) understanding of subsurface parameter estimation, and will also look at some possible future directions. The course is designed for: practising geoscientists who desire to better understand the principles and limitations of both current and emerging technologies involved in subsurface parameter estimation and imaging and geoscience students. Following this course, participants should ideally understand how contemporary velocity estimation methods work, and what approximations are involved in obtaining computationally tractable solutions.
Publication Date: January 01, 2018

GeoScienceWorld 2023 eBook Collection

GeoScienceWorld 2023 eBook Collection Titles

Miller Nichols Library

Giving to the Libraries