Research Guides: UMKC University History: Articles

Library Resources

University Libraries offers access to historical newspapers through the databases listed below.

Access World News Research Collection
A comprehensive news collection for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Includes the Kansas City Star 1991-present.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Kansas City Call
A Black weekly newspaper founded in 1919 to provide leadership for the Black community. It quickly became one of the most successful Black newspapers in the U.S. Coverage is Jan. 1, 1922- Dec. 31, 2010.
Early American Newspapers
Full text digital articles from American newspapers, including the Kansas City Star, 1690-1922. Coverage varies from paper to paper.

Kansas City, Kansas Public Library - Genealogy Resources
- This link opens in a new window
KCKPL offers genealogy resources that include access to newspaper databases. You will need to sign up for a library card to access the databases online. Otherwise you will need to use the databases on-site at the KCKPL.
Mid-Continent Public Library - Midwest Genealogy Center
- This link opens in a new window
MCPL's Midwest Genealogy Center offers access to newspaper databases. You will need to sign up for a library card to access the databases online. Otherwise you will need to use the databases on-site at the MCPL.
Missouri Valley Special Collections - Newspapers & Clips
Area public libraries will offer access to view physical newspapers and clippings onsite, such as the Missouri Valley Special Collections at The Kansas City Public Library.
The State Historical Society of Missouri - Missouri Digital Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
SHSMO offers a growing collection of digitized historic newspapers. Digitized newspapers are also available through the Library of Congress's Chronicling America website.

For contemporary scholarly research articles about UMKC history, see the database links from University Libraries below.

EBSCOhost Databases
Search the contents of EBSCO including some full articles, books, and other media.
Does not include Social Work Abstracts.
Academic Search Complete
Full articles, citations, summaries and more from academic journals covering most subjects. Full-text varies from 2000-present.
ERIC (EBSCOhost)
Includes educational articles, research reports, curricular materials, etc.
Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Search a wide range of subjects and sources.
JSTOR
Full articles from major research journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage of most journals starts from the beginning and excludes the most recent three to five years. Also includes access to a broad range of archival collections of primary resources.