FRN-LNG 231: Themes in World Languages

Contains language documentation data from a great variety of languages from around the world that are in danger of becoming extinct. This portal gives access to the material in the archive and provides information about the DOBES endangered languages documentation programme.

Digital repository preserving and publishing endangered language documentation materials from around the world. The materials are digital and freely available (after free registration).

List of projects funded to document and preserve endangered languages. Materials can be viewed in the ELAR. An interactive map also available to see project locations.

Through this website, users can not only access the most up to date and comprehensive information on endangered languages as well as language resources being provided by partners, but also play an active role in putting their languages online by submitting information or samples in the form of text, audio or video files.

An index of the world’s living languages: free version includes language families and international naming codes.

Reference information for the world's languages, especially the lesser known languages.

Provides an interactive map to explore and learn about 7000 languages around the globe.

Additional linguistic resources compiled by The Stanford Natural Language Processing Group. Some links included may not be regularly updated.

Resource page with links to regional and global language archives, divided by Language Hotspots or concentrated regions of the world having the highest level of linguistic diversity, the highest levels of endangerment, and the least-studied languages.

Encyclopedia of writing systems and languages, with information on 1,440 distinct languages and 320 writing scripts, as well as language-related articles.

Provides basic data about non-dominant languages and the community of people to whom those languages belong, and thereby contribute to decision-making for the intentional planning of language development.

Official statistics on a wide range of social and demographic topics.

A large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars).