Research Guides: Annotated Bibliographies: Annotations

What is an annotated bibliography?

A bibliography is a list of works (books, articles, films, etc.) on a particular topic. An annotated bibliography includes a paragraph following each citation that summarizes the work. An annotation can help the reader determine the value of each work on the topic and the contribution it might make to his own research. Two common types of annotated bibliographies are descriptive and critical.

Critical vs. Descriptive Annotations

Critical Annotations	Descriptive Annotations
A critical annotation includes value judgments or comments on the effectiveness of the work. In this context, critical means evaluative and may include both positive and negative comments. A critical annotation may contain the information found in a descriptive annotation and discuss some of the following features: The importance of the work’s contribution to the literature of the subject The author’s bias or tone The author’s qualifications for writing the work The accuracy of the information in the source Limitations or significant omissions The work’s contribution to the literature of the subject Comparison with other works on the topic	A descriptive annotation may summarize: The main purpose or idea of the work The contents of the work The author’s conclusions The intended audience The author’s research methods Special features of the work such as illustrations, maps, tables, etc.

Critical Annotations

Descriptive Annotations

A critical annotation includes value judgments or comments on the effectiveness of the work. In this context, critical means evaluative and may include both positive and negative comments. A critical annotation may contain the information found in a descriptive annotation and discuss some of the following features:

The importance of the work’s contribution to the literature of the subject
The author’s bias or tone
The author’s qualifications for writing the work
The accuracy of the information in the source
Limitations or significant omissions
The work’s contribution to the literature of the subject
Comparison with other works on the topic

A descriptive annotation may summarize:

The main purpose or idea of the work
The contents of the work
The author’s conclusions
The intended audience
The author’s research methods
Special features of the work such as illustrations, maps, tables, etc.

What else should I include for my annotated bibliography assignment?

When writing an annotated bibliography for a course, your assignment may specify required contents of each annotation, including expectations of descriptive or critical annotations. Your assignment may specify:

Descriptive or critical (evaluative) annotations or both
The length of each annotation
The relevance of the work to the class
The usefulness to a further assignment, such as a research paper

Sample Annotations

Cornell University Library (2008)
How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography

Purdue University, The OWL at Purdue - OWL Materials

Annotated Bibliographies

Annotated Bibliography Samples

University of California, Santa Cruz University Library.
How-to . . . Write an Annotated Bibliography

Writing Annotations

Critical Reviews and Literature Reviews
UMKC Writing Studio guide. The critical reviews section can help with writing annotations for a bibliography.

Annotated Bibliographies

Annotations

What is an annotated bibliography?

Critical vs. Descriptive Annotations

What else should I include for my annotated bibliography assignment?

Sample Annotations

Writing Annotations

Miller Nichols Library

Giving to the Libraries