Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMKC University Libraries

Information Resources for Solo Practitioners & Small Law Firms

Guide prepared in conjunction with law school Solo and Small Firm Practice Course

Resources for Establishing a Collection

  • Kendall F. Svengalis, Legal Information Buyers Guide and Reference Manual 2013 (New England Lawpress).  This is the "Bible" for helping law firms build their own libraries.  It comes out annually and is truly independent.  Call number is  KF1.L43 (On reserve, ask for it at library circulation desk).    Current price is listed at $162 fo r print or CD version. 

2013 Legal Information buyers Guide

  • Small Firm Library:  Mapping Your Library.  Tutorial and tool to learn to classify items in your library to help build a complete library.
  • Law Book ExchangeLaw Book Exchange not only brokers rare books, but it also stocks a healthy collection of second hand publications.  It is particularly good source (even if the item is not currently in their stock) for large sets such as reporters, digests, encyclopedias, etc.
  • IndexMaster provides a searchable database of the indexes and tables of contents for current treatises and looseleafs of most legal publishers.  The service also has price and publisher information.  The database is linked to UMKC's Subscription Databases page, but it is only accessible for the public within the UMKC Law Building.  The previous annual subscript for a firm of less than 15 is $45.  See http://www.indexmaster.org

 

Bibliographic Resources

  • WorldCat Beta.  Open access to a version of the world's largest library catalog, with over one billion bibliographic records from over 10,000 libraries around the world. 

    • By entering your zip code, you can see what libraries (including many law firm libraries) hold a particular title. 

    • For interlibrary loan features, you need to access the subscription service from the law library's data base page.  This is available to walk in patrons and UMKC students and faculty.

  •   MERLlN and MOBIUS.  Consortium interlibrary catalogs, including UMKC school of law and other Missouri libraries.  

    • MERLIN consists of  the academic libraries of the University of Missouri System, including the law school at the University of Missouri Columbia. 

    • MOBIUS includes about 70 libraries in Missouri, including the law schools at Saint Louis University and Washington University.

Free Resources

chat loading...