Research Guides: The U.S. Census and Population Data: Special Collections and Maps

For searchers interested in census data, the LaBudde Special Collections has additional materials of potential interest such as:

Map & Atlas Collection
Consists of originals and reproductions dating from the 1500s to the present. The bulk of the collection covers greater Kansas City and surrounding environs; other areas of the United States and from around the world are represented as well. Included are topographic, railway, and territory surveys.
City Directories
The City Directory Collection consists of original city directories as well as other directory types for Kansas City, Missouri; Kansas City, Kansas; Jackson and Cass Counties in Missouri; Johnson and Wyandotte Counties in Kansas; as well as other local areas. The city directories contain business and residential listings; and many include reverse-lookups by street address.

Digital Sanborn Maps

Browse and search historical Sanborn Fire Maps for Missouri, Kansas, Illinois, and Louisiana. Sanborn Fire Maps helped fire insurance companies determine the risk of insuring particular properties. Researchers use these maps to study property and land use in U.S. towns and villages. Covers 1867-1970, but not all areas have maps for all dates. Fire maps include streets, landmarks, and building outlines.

Sanborn Maps for Missouri
From University of Missouri. " Documenting the layout of 390 Missouri cities from 1883 to 1951, the University of Missouri-Columbia Ellis Library Special Collections Department has digitized 6,798 of the maps for Missouri cities from 1880 to 1922."
MARC - Census Maps & Data
2020 Local Census Data as it becomes available, 2010 for some data until then. MARC's other data and GIS products are accessible from this page.

University Libraries