Research Guides: CONSVTY 5593: Introduction to Research and Bibliography in Music: Citing Sources

When and What Do I Cite?

Cite anything you write or create that uses or refers to the ideas of another person, including:

direct quotations
paraphrasing of passages
indebtedness to another person for an idea
use of another student's work
use of your own previous work<

You do not need to cite information that is common knowledge.

Citation Tools

		A comprehensive writing guide, which offers over 200 free resources on writing, research, grammar and mechanics, citation style guides and English as a second language tools.

		A free, easy-to-use browser plugin that helps you collect, organize, and cite sources. Works with Microsoft Word and Google Docs to easily incorporate citations and bibliographies into your papers. Visit the UMKC Library guide to Zotero.

		A citation tool with a plugin for Microsoft Word. The desktop version and web version are available to UMKC faculty and staff; only the web version is available to students. Helps format and save citations in almost any citation style. Access it from anywhere.

		Allows you to create citations in MLA, APA, Chicago or Turabian.

For full details, use style guides in the library:
Turabian | Chicago - online | APA | MLA

UMKC Writing Studio

The Writing Studio offers:

free peer consultation service for students.
online writing resources, including guides to APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian
workshops on citing sources, plagiarism, writing style, organizing ideas, grammar, punctuation, and more.

Visit their website or call 816-235-1146 to make an appointment.

UMKC Writing Resources Collection

Colorful abstract graphics of books on shelves with the words "Writing Resources Collection brought to you by the UMKC Libraries"

What is it?

A collection of print and e-books for undergraduate students, graduate students, and faculty engaged in writing.
Contains citation style guides, books on writing strategies and techniques, tips for academic writers, and "how to" books on writing everything from research papers to dissertations.

Writing Consultations

The UMKC Writing Studio's consultants are happy to work with you on your writing. See their website for hours and more details.

Drop in hours at the Miller Nichols Library location.
Appointments in the Atterbury Student Success Center.
Email and video chat consultations available.

Browse the print books in this collection

Writing Resources Collection - Print Books: The Writing Resources Collection's print books are located in the Writing Studio area of Miller Nichols Library (northwest corner of the 1st floor).

CONSVTY 5593: Introduction to Research and Bibliography in Music